Magnificent May: Goodness and Grace

“Now God has us where he wants us, with all the time in this world and the next to shower grace and kindness upon us in Christ Jesus.  Saving is all his idea, and all his work.  All we do is trust him enough to let him do it.  It’s God’s gift from start to finish!  We don’t play the major role.  If we did, we’d probably go around bragging that we’d done the whole thing!  No, we neither make nor save ourselves.  God does both the making and saving.  He creates each of us by Christ Jesus to join him in the work he does, the good work he has gotten ready for us to do, work we had better be doing.”  Ephesians 2:7-10

Composite of my transformation from 449 lbs to 207 lbs.
Composite of my transformation from 449 lbs to 207 lbs.

I’m sitting here in Einstein Bros drinking coffee and blogging, and reflecting on the goodness and grace of God.  May is a symbolic month for me.  It was May, eight years ago that I started my weight loss journey with my awesome friend Lisa.  She helped me gain my weight loss goals and changed the way I live my life.  In the same month seven years ago, I learned how to run for the first time.  Two years ago, it was the month I received my Personal Training certification.  This year it’s the month I have my first client that my friend and business partner Lisa and I have together.  I have come full circle to this moment in my life.  It’s been a long road and still is a long road to get to where I want to be, but I will take the downs with the ups because my faith and character have been built on these.  May is a rebirth month; spring is in full bloom when May rolls around.  To me the spiritual significance is that May is the fifth month and the number five means God’s grace and goodness.  God has given me a lot of grace and lately a lot of goodness.  The verse that is quoted above is from the Message version of the Bible.  This is a famous salvation verse that is quoted with just verses 8 and 9, but I think 10 is so significant in the fact that we are created to do good works.  Let’s break down this verse in regards to God’s grace and goodness.

The first part of the scripture talks about God having us where He wants us.  Meaning he wants to shower us with grace and goodness.  He always desired to make it a continuous thing and He achieved it through what Jesus did on the cross.  My showering moment was eight years ago when I was dying from heart failure because my heart could not handle the girth that was around it.  Having Lisa, who at the time was my nurse, show me how to eat and begin an exercise program was the beginning of hard work and great blessing.  The choices I made allowed God to do his thing in a most powerful way.  When you make a step toward God, He always comes running.

The next statement that shows goodness and grace is salvation being God’s idea.  God loved us so much that He was willing to do anything to show us that love.  The major small step we make is with total trust and fulfilling faith.  My test of faith and trust to see God’s goodness and grace was learning how to run.  For me that was a major undertaking because when I have run in the past I had asthma to contend with.  So, with running, fear was what kept me from getting started.  Lisa gave me a great running program to begin with and it slowly over a month got me to running a straight 30 minutes.  I had to have total trust in God to begin running, and I am so glad, because now I have a fulfilled faith.

The next statement that we are going to look at is how salvation is a gift.  We cannot earn it through certain good merits; we don’t deserve what we are getting either.  God freely gave it to us when Jesus died on the cross.  The gift does not stop there; when we work on obedience to God, we find favor.  I found favor when I had enough money to take a class on Personal Training and get my certification to share my passion.

The last statement is we are created to do good works; salvation doesn’t depend on our good works.  As we saw in the previous point, it’s a gift.  Jesus is always first savior of our lives, then He becomes Lord of our lives when we start walking on the path He has set for us.  Doing the good works are the making Him the Lord part.  My path is for me to personal train people and help them get on their own path.  I find satisfaction and significance in doing this.

Coming full circle takes a lot of faith and trust and hard work.  We can do it if we know that God wants to shower us with goodness and grace, it takes faith and trust, it’s a gift, and we do good works so that God can do His good work in our lives and continue the favor and goodness and grace.

Leave a Reply

