Climbing the Mountain Part 5: Mercy All the Way to the Top

“Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.”~Matthew 5:7Photo: Silhouette of climber in Greek Islands

Our next be attitude that Jesus talks about is mercy.  Mercy is the grabbing of rock, the physical climbing we do to get to the top.  It’s an action, not a reaction.  Mercy doesn’t wait for the need to come, it sees the need and then takes action.  Not very many blogs ago I wrote on mercy being one of the character traits that can be stronger in some than it is in others.  The whole idea is yes it’s a gift if we are born with it, but it’s also something we as Christians should aim toward.  I defined mercy as love in action.  Saying I love you is great, but showing it in unconditional ways is powerful.  If you are mercy driven then you will have more of God’s unmitigated favor.  I looked up mercy in Webster’s 1828 dictionary, which is an awesome reference if you want some of the purest definitions for words.  Here is what Webster said:  Mercy is that benevolence, mildness, or tenderness of heart, which disposes a person to overlook injuries, or to treat an offender better than he deserves; the disposition that tempers justice, and induces an injured person to forgive trespasses and injuries, and to forbear punishment, or inflict less than law or justice will warrant.  In this sense, there is perhaps no word in our language precisely synonymous with mercy.  That which comes nearest to it is grace.  It implies benevolence, tenderness, mildness, pity or compassion, and clemency, but exercised only toward offenders.  Mercy is a distinguishing attribute of the Supreme Being.  God is merciful to us all the time, and so we who have been created in His own image should strive toward this.  There are three qualities of a mercy driven person.

The first quality of a mercy driven person is they are very easy to talk to.  It’s amusing to me how many people share more than I think they plan to share with me because I am very easy to talk to.  I love this aspect about myself because it opens the door for me to help someone heal or deal with some issue in his or her life.  As a personal trainer it helps me deal with the inside issues that some may be harboring, such as excuses to keep them from getting to the next level in their physical goals.  Changing what’s on the inside first is going to change the outside.  Transformation begins with the heart.

The next quality that a mercy driven person has is they are tenderhearted individuals.  I feel others pain even though I might not be experiencing it.  Most mercy driven people have a lot of friends and acquaintances.  They are people you can confide in and know they are not going to pass it on to others through gossip.  Another definition of tenderhearted is we wear our heart on our sleeve.  It doesn’t take much to make me tear up and get emotional.  The way I look at it is, if I get sappy, God gets sappy as well; since He made me in His own image.

Another quality, and the last one I am going to talk about, is the mercy driven are full of life and love.  When you are full of life, love is present in your actions.  You are a person that when you enter a room you brighten it by just being the exuberant you that you are.  Enthusiasm is the spice of life and an ingredient to loving unreservedly.  You see the good in everyone and so you focus on that.  For me when I see someone that is down and depressed, I want to lift that person up anyway I can.  Sometimes a rightly placed word of encouragement can make a person’s day.

Mercy is the action of climbing up the mountain, it’s reaching to the next rock, or ledge to move up.  Mercy driven people are comfortable to talk to, they have tender hearts, and they are full of life and love.  Keep loving yourself and others up the side of the mountain to get to the top where there is an awesome view and you are full of life.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

Leave a Reply

