Dynamic Change

The lord had said to Abram, “Leave your native country, your relatives, and your father’s family, and go to the land that I will show you.  I will make you into a great nation.  I will bless you and make you famous, and you will be a blessing to others.  I will bless those who bless you and curse those who treat you with contempt.  All the families on earth will be blessed through you.”  Genesis 12:1-3

The definition of dynamic is pertaining to or characterized by energy or effective action; vigorously active or forceful, energetic.  The above verse is an example of dynamic change that Abram had to deal with.  Over the last couple of weeks, I have three friends that are going through some major changes in their lives.  One friend is trying to decide the direction of a business.  A second friend is going through a divorce.  A third friend is in the process of being trained for a new job and taking it on.  For me I am in the process of starting a business.  I think all of us have heard the voice of God for this change and that change is dynamic.  One of the things I want to keep from falling into again is having a stale life.  The American dream is an awesome dream, but if part of that dream means to slog through a day that is the same every day, I don’t want any part of that type of living.  I have lived that life before and I refuse to go back to it.  I think of it as the waiting to die way of living; which is not really living.  This is an attitude and is not indicative of any particular job.  To me the abundant life is one where you get up most mornings and are expectant of a great day ahead, because you love what you do and you do it as unto God.  As a personal trainer, we have this thing called muscle confusion.  The more I confuse your muscles, the more tone you will have and the more fat will be burned.  If you do the same exercise routine, repeatedly your body will adapt to what you are doing and results will be ineffective.  The plus on this is you are not allowing your body to be stale with the exercise, and it makes it more exciting and less of a chore.  It’s the same with our lives, we have to have some adventure thrown in there to keep us from that repetitive life.  What are some ways we can keep the excitement and expectation coming in our lives?

The first thing to do is take a faith-filled step.  What does a faith-filled step look like?  You work toward whatever change you are going for.  If God’s path for you is a banker, get a job in a bank.  Part of the issue here is people don’t take any risk, they stick with what they know and may hate that thing.  They feel safe and are “comfortable.”  Comfortable does not get you a feeling of expectation every day; it gets you stale.

God meets us with a faith-filled step.  He will give either more encouragement in the direction you are going or you may get a dead end and a possible failure.  This is where patience comes in.  I think more times I can count that I have found a dead-end with the “perfect” idea I had.  That promotion I was shooting for that I was so upset I didn’t get.  Then I look a year later at the poor stressed out person that got it and I thank God that He lead me in the right direction.  That dead end is a character builder or a character destroyer.  You have a decision in your attitude whether to accept it and make another faith-filled step forward or you don’t take it well and allow bitterness to set in.

This brings me to the last thing to keep expectation in dynamic change and that is your attitude.  God has brought me to a place in my life where I can look back over the years and see His hand in all of it.  I have gone through some personal hell in my life and what has come out of it is gratitude to a God that has stood by my side and picked me up every time I’ve fallen.  Therefore, I get up every morning with hope in my heart and expectation of the coming day instead of dread.  You have a choice when you wake up whether to have a great attitude or a poor one.

Abraham heard the voice of God and his faith was strong, because he stepped out when it was very difficult leaving his family.  He knew God had his steps planned out and they were awesome steps.  Abraham had effective faith-filled steps, he tried to be patient, and he had the best faithful attitude.  Dynamic change is energetic and continued movement in the path that God has set before us.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

Leave a Reply

