No Fear!

So be strong and courageous!  Do not be afraid and do not panic before them.  For the lord your God will personally go ahead of you.  He will neither fail you nor abandon you.  Deuteronomy 31:6

It was a nice sunny Saturday morning and I was trying to keep up with my running buddy and close friend; we were trail running.  She is a foot shorter than I am and probably close to half my weight so she is fast.  My dog was unleashed and running between us.  I had been sporting an injury in my upper backside of my leg called the hamstring for a few months.  I was trying to get my joy of running back, but was falling short because of that pain in my butt.  Trail running has to be done when you are not tired and this was my third day in a row of running, besides having a full week.  My attention was also diverted to my dog who was keeping a good pace between my friend and me.  When you are trail running, your focus should be 3 feet in front of you, not 6 feet where my dog was.  I failed to see the root fragment sticking up far enough for tired feet not to clear and I ended up falling hard on my right arm.  I got the arm and hand out in front of me to break my fall and it took all the impact.  I strained my arm so bad that the pain was excruciating and caused me to tear up and writhe in pain.  This of course knocked me out of the gym.  I would not be lifting any heavy weights for a while.  Blessings can be found in the negative things we face if we are strong and courageous to know God has our best.

The blessing I got out of the injury in the hamstring was I was able to get over a fear I have had since childhood and that is fear of deep water.  The pain was so bad that I had to stop impacting the leg with running and take up aqua jogging.  Aqua jogging is done with a flotation device you fasten around your waste and guess what?  You have to float out to the deep end of the pool.  Well, I decided that I had to hang on to the side with one hand while I was jogging.  Finally after getting sick of hanging on to the side like I was going to go under and never come back up, I let go of the side and to my amazement didn’t sink or drown.  I was so excited that I went to the shallow end of the pool and took off the flotation device and swam from the shallow end to the deep end.  Courage is deciding to take action on something that needs to be done, even if it’s a scary proposition.  God took my work in progress life and knew I would injure myself and took full advantage of showing me what a little courage can do.  I am becoming a more confident swimmer and plan on some lake swimming this summer in preparation for doing a full triathlon.  God took my step of faith and is healing me in the fear I had.  Courage is found deep within you and when you least expect it to rise up out of you, it does.

The fall caused me to limit my gym time.  I felt like I was lazy and listless.  I still would get a couple of runs in during the weeks during the winter, but they were becoming hard to even get out and do.  My joy of running found it’s limit.  I started eating badly again and didn’t allow myself any grace.  During this inactive time, my arm healed and the pain in my hamstring completely disappeared; I was completely healed.  God not only healed me, but He worked on my ego as well.  One prayer I have had since losing all this weight is God please keep me humble so that I can encourage others to do what I did.  My strength came back to me when I allowed courage to get me past a fear.  My fear of gaining weight is not as strong as it was because my body is physically stronger going through the important healing it needed.  My joy of running and exercising my body is back and more passionate than ever.

As the word says being strong and courageous gets us to where God wants us to go.  He has prepared our steps for the godly life He wants us to live.  Trusting Him to set up our path is being strong and courageous.  You first have to be strong before you can be courageous.  You have to be courageous to find the inner strength to overcome.  Strength comes from His word and spending time in prayer with our great God.  The more we know Him the stronger we become, the more courage we get to face things we may have shied away from in the past.  There is a purpose in every opposition we face; whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.  God doesn’t want us to be comfortable in this world, He wants us to be comfortable in Him.  Strength and courage always overcomes any fear we may have to face.  Find your strength and courage in His word and spend time in prayer.  The oppositions we face may be the blessings we have when we look back.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

Leave a Reply

