Success The Edison Way

Our greatest weakness lies in giving up.  The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time. .~Thomas A. Edison

Restlessness is discontent and discontent is the first necessity of progress.  Show me a thoroughly satisfied man and I will show you a failure. ~Thomas A. Edison

Thomas Alva Edison was most noted for inventing the phonograph and the long lasting incandescing light bulb as well as one of the fathers of mass production.  He also had some great things to say, I grabbed a couple of quotes that I wanted to talk about in the post.  The wisdom of these quotes we can use for everyday life when we are going through struggles.  Being a Christian doesn’t guarantee you are going to have a smooth life, it just means you are going to be smooth through life.

The first quote is so dead on right.  Giving up is our greatest weakness, giving up accomplishes nothing and you learn nothing about yourself.  One of the wisest things my Grandmother said to me is, “You are never satisfied, and that is a good thing David”.  I was probably 8 years old at the time, but those words stayed with me.  I can honestly say I have given up and quit several things in my life, but when I quit there had to be a very good reason for the quitting.  Reasons would include a job that is so stressful that you can’t function, a marriage that is abusive, a friend that keeps dragging you down.  These are destructive things that are reasons to quit, sometimes you can find the strength to turn them around, and sometimes you cannot and have to leave them behind.  It all depends on your situation and how the Holy Spirit moves you.  Excuses are not a good reason to quit in fact they always lead to failure.  Excuses would be you quit a job because it gets in the way of having fun, you quit a marriage because you argue, and you quit a friend because they inadvertently offended you.  If you have a specific goal in mind, then don’t allow excuse to get in the way of that dream.

When we push through our circumstances, we learn something about ourselves and about how strong we are.  When I ran my first half marathon, I had a single goal in mind and that was to finish the race.  When I hit mile 11 I thought the world was coming to the end, but I pushed through the pain, ignored it and moved to the finish line 2.1 miles away.  Just one more mile, just one more time can make all the difference in your world.

The last quote Edison talks about satisfaction and discontentment.  This quote reminded me of what my Grandmother said about never being satisfied is a good thing.  For me what Edison is talking about here is passion and hunger.  Passion is keeping going because you believe in hope and you know hope can keep the drive going.  Hunger is almost the same thing, but is the drive to keep going toward the passion.  What Edison is saying here is that when we are satisfied we are true failures.  The best businesses always have to change and adjust to keep from being stale.  The market place is brutal for those that don’t embrace change and accept it.  Change is discontentment in action.  We should always be striving toward excellence.  Contentment is discontentment under control.  Our passion toward a goal can lead us to being out of control and moving ahead of God.  When we are content with our circumstances and trusting God to get us to our goal then we don’t allow ourselves to get ahead of God.

Not quitting, pushing through our circumstances, and letting contentment lead our passion will bring us great success the Edison way.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

Leave a Reply

