Resolutions, Goals, and Vision For a New Year

on
Over The Times Square New Year's Eve Ball 2013...
Over The Times Square New Year’s Eve Ball 2013 – 2014 (Photo credit: Anthony Quintano)

What you get by achieving your goals is not as important as what you become by achieving your goals.~Henry David Thoreau

Once again, we have reached that time of year again where we make our New Year’s resolutions.  Resolutions never solve anything for long term.  They are the interest, not the commitment we are looking for.  They are a short-term solution for a long-term problem.  I myself have used resolutions in the past and have come up short in really continuing what I started.  Probably the most popular resolution is the weight loss one.  This year I am going to take off all of my pounds.  As a personal trainer, I have noticed that the interest at the beginning of the year in health clubs is always the busiest time of year.  People do very well for about a month, and then when Super Bowl Sunday comes about, they tend to lose all focus and go back to the old habits.  Resolutions are interests we express verbally in the hopes that this year we will change for the better.

I found that goals are a better way to achieve change in your life.  When you set goals for yourself, you create a purpose and a direction you can go.  Goals unlike resolutions are written down in the hopes of accomplishing them.  There is a high percentage that you will accomplish the goal if it’s written down.  When I write down my goals, I use three different parts of my life to be goal oriented.  The first one is my physical goals.  This may include weight loss and pretty much all of the running races I will do in one year.  It may also include improving my athleticism in maybe swimming or my biking.  When you set physical goals, you have to train for those events and to improve yourself.  Starting with your physical goals will enhance your life and give you a healthy outlook on your life.

The next portion that I goal orient is my vocational life.  What are my goals for the New Year as far as my career choice?  What can I do to improve myself this year to get myself ahead in the market place?  How can I improve my business and make it better?  Can I improve my standard of living for my family?  Write down goals associated with these questions.  God has made each of us wanting to do something significant in this life, is what we are doing as a career choice significant?  Maybe what you are doing is not significant to you, but to God you are exactly where you need to be to make a significant impact on someone’s life.

The last part is the most important and really drives the other two parts and that is spiritual goals.  What is my next step to take in my spiritual life?  Should I involve myself in a new ministry?  Is there a direction that God is taking you?  I would call this type of goal setting, vision.  This would be more of a long-term goal, because sometimes when God puts a dream in your life, it may take a long time to see that dream become a reality.  It may not be in the form that you have originally thought.  If you are seeking significance that most of us desire, then a God given dream is always the way to get to that significance.  When we make God significant in our lives, He works to give us a significant impactful life.  This is why this vision goal setting is so important.  What is your most hairy audacious goal that you have in your heart?  This may be the God given dream that will bring the significance your life.  As Henry David Thoreau said in the quote above, it’s what the journey of getting to the goal that changes you and gives you character.  Character is what sets you apart and makes you significant.

Goals are important to help keep our lives moving forward and the energy level high.  When we look at our physical goals, our vocational goals, and most important our spiritual goals and write them down, we will have the drive to continue moving forward.  A spoken resolution will never make a significant impact for change in our lives or the lives of others.  Commitment is goals and vision, resolution is always just interest.   It’s a new year dawning, so make the most and shoot for your dreams where ever they may take you.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

Leave a Reply

