Life-Giver Rule #4: Don’t Boast, Praise and Raise

Children behaviour: Offence and Boasting.
Boasting. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast…  I Corinthians 13:4

Let someone else praise you, and not your own mouth; an outsider, and not your own lips.  Proverbs 27:2

Rule #4 of a life-giver is not to boast or to be arrogant.  Boasting is being prideful of yourself and your accomplishments.  I believe there are two types of boasting, prideful boasting, and humble boasting.  Prideful boasting is arrogance in its raw form.  It means you boast about your accomplishments and what you did; you speak of yourself as great.  You give yourself glory, not God glory.  Life-givers do not boast about themselves, they boast about others.  The “someone else” that is mentioned in the above verse is the life-giver.  It feels good to have someone else boast about you and talk you up than you doing it yourself.  We will talk about some different things to keep ourselves from being boastful.

A fact is that the opposite of boasting is humility.  Humility is the antidote to giving into boasting.  For me I can easily give in to boasting and say how great I am because I was able to lose 242 pounds on my own.  The only thing I take credit for is my own correct choices I made to have God come running to me and give me even more strength to achieve what I only dreamed about.  It took the encouragement of several friends to help me continue to my ultimate goal.  It took accountability of my nurse and friend to keep me on the straight and narrow.  Being honest with myself, I was not alone in my weight loss journey.  I could take complete credit, but I can’t, it’s not the truth.  A humble attitude is the best way to keep you from being boastful.

Being honest with you is what I mentioned in the last point about humility.  You are humble when you are honest with yourself.  Honesty is going to keep you from giving into the boasting thing.  One of the things we want in our lives is to be significant in some way.  When we are searching for significance, we fail to realize the short cut of being dishonest is a difficult road.  Yes, it may seem easy at first, but dishonesty takes a lot of work.  The fear that we may not be significant if we don’t point out our worth is what causes dishonesty.  The thing I found is that people will boast about me to others, I don’t even have to say a word.  The above verse is very true in my life.  There is more significance when someone boasts for you, not showing arrogance.

Another form of boasting that we should avoid, but is very easy to do is false humility.  That is when you have to say how humble you are.  I always say if you have to say it and point it out, you really aren’t humble. As I said, it’s very easy to fall into because it happened to me.  My Pastor pointed it out to me when he asked me one time how much weight I lost.  I told him and he said to me, “wow that is amazing.”  Instead of saying thank you and leaving it at that, I had to seem more spiritual and I said, “Yeah, it was all God, not me.”  It was as if I was really on autopilot with God.  My Pastor pointed out that my good choices is what helped, God just helped me and gave me strength during the process.  I was trying to look all spiritual in front of my Pastor and he called me out on it.  The point is, boasting can get you from the backdoor if you are not aware of it.  When people give you praise, just give a thank you and don’t add to it.  When you add to it, you are not being humble.

Being humble, honest, and, truly humble is steps toward being an amazing life-giver.  You don’t take all the credit, you pass that credit on to those that helped you.  You praise and raise others.  When you honor people by giving them glory, God will glorify you by making you significant and an inspiration.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

