Unplugging

So the creation of the heavens and the earth and everything in them was completed.  On the seventh day God had finished his work of creation, so he rested from all his work.  And God blessed the seventh day and declared it holy, because it was the day when he rested from all his work of creation.  Genesis 2:1-3

Unplugged
Unplugged (Photo credit: las – initially)

It’s been an interesting few weeks.  God has a way of speaking to us in unexpected ways, but always gets His point across.  For me it started a few weeks ago when I posted The Believer’s Marathon Part 13: Rest!  I have a friend that is so busy all the time; I have to reminder her to rest.  She is constantly on the move and needs to take a break.  So, I wrote this blog with her in mind and the timing with the Christine Caine book was perfect, or so I thought.  Then not two weeks later my Pastor preached on keeping the Sabbath day holy and resting.  Basically saying the same thing I was saying in my blog.  It was an awesome to see how we agreed on every point and made me love this Holy Spirit agreement.  My Pastor shared a story of a couple of years ago the seven days a week; work week was getting to him.  He found himself driving around in circles at a restaurant building up the courage just to walk in and order something.  He was worried someone would recognize him and ask all kinds of questions, it happens all the time.  He shared this story with his accountability pastor friend.  His friend told him he was exhausted.  He needed to take some time off.

After hearing that story God revealed to me that I have been consistently writing my blog and tweeting inspirational tweets for the last two years.  In fact, Wednesday was my two-year anniversary on this WordPress blog.  As a result, I figured that I needed to take a two-week break from all social media and just plain unplug to refresh and restart.  I need some fresh perspective and a break; I think I have been sounding redundant in my writing.  I’m unplugging completely for two days, and then not posting or writing anything for a full two weeks.  Part of the unplugging process is to spend time reading the blogs you my followers write.  I get to read a few of them from time to time, but have no time to read them all.  I am very much humbled by the fact that I have followers to begin with.  While I am off for those two weeks, please respond to this blog post and give me some topics you would like for me to write about.  I look forward to hearing from you.

[David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

Leave a Reply

