The Believers Marathon Part 20: Attitude of Gratitude

Since we are receiving a Kingdom that is unshakable, let us be thankful and please God by worshiping him with holy fear and awe.  For our God is a devouring fire.  Hebrews 12:28-29

Develop an attitude of gratitude, and give thanks for everything that happens to you, knowing that every step forward is a step toward achieving something bigger and better than your current situation.~Brian Tracy

The sunrise gives us gratitude for a new day and shows us how awesome God is.
The sunrise gives us gratitude for a new day and shows us how awesome God is.

I had no idea that when I picked up Christine Caine’s book, Run to Win that the chapter would speak directly with my current attitude of disappointment.  I love God so much, it’s unreal, because He always speaks into my life through my godly friends and books I read and a ton of other ways.  Christine says that winners are always grateful.  I have to say lately my patience and my attitude of gratitude has been tested to the breaking point.  I’ve talked about my injury before and how it’s has slowed me down in my running.  It also has slowed me down in my believer’s marathon.  After an awesome 4 mile run the other day I was complaining again about how slow I was, how I wish I was back in the shape I was in 2009, how I need to take off pounds, how I have to improve my running gate.  My friend Lisa looked at me and said, “but look at how far you have come”.  I have to admit I think I have lost my attitude of gratitude.  What I have loved the most has been attacked and that is my running.  4 years ago, if you said I would be running as much as I do now I would have laughed in your face.  It took a month and a half to fall in love with running.  It was so hard to start and when I ran that first 30 minutes of straight running I found the gratitude zone.  There are some things we can consider to keeping our gratitude zone.

The first thing is understanding that God’s going to test our patience so that we can see how patient we are.  I have discovered with no surprise that my patience is very thin.  It takes one pain in the butt to get me thinking His kingdom is shakable.  The above verse reminds me that it’s unshakable.  That we are going to go through trials and the thing we love a lot can be one of those tests.  God did not hit me with this, it developed over time from bad running gate; me not lifting my knees high enough and slightly bending at the waist.  What I have to be grateful for in this whole trial are awesome friends like Lisa that can point out these things while I am running.  Focusing on our problem does nothing to solve it; working through it is what will solve it.  Being grateful and knowing how far I have come should overshadow the injury; and how slow it is coming back from that injury.  Unshakable thinking will give us the patience we need to endure through the trial.

The next idea is to keep a holy fear of God.  When we complain about our circumstances, we are opening the door to bitterness and impatience.  When we do that we question God on why did He allowed this to happen.  God always has our best in mind and we always have to go through tough times to find God’s best for us.  Keeping a healthy holy fear of God can keep us grateful for our dire circumstances because we know God is going to come through.  I know that I will be running as I ran back in 2009 because God’s best and better is around the corner.

The final thing we can do to keeping our attitude of gratitude is to look back and know how awesome God is and how awesome you are.  Being in awe of God is doing just that.  As my friend reminded me of looking back and seeing, where I came from and how far I have transformed from the former me to who I am now.  It’s amazing how much has changed and I am in awe of what God has done in my life.  For that, I am so grateful and glad in my heart for most of the time.  The testing of my running has been difficult for me to say the least, but I have to remember where I came from and where I have come.  Brian Tracey says a true statement in the above quote.  Each step we take to keep moving forward past a difficulty will get us on the path for God’s best in our lives.  God doesn’t want us shrinking back at every difficulty, He doesn’t want me quitting running because I have to worry about an injury.  We have to keep the attitude of gratitude by knowing God’s kingdom is unshakable, that we continue to have a holy fear of God, and that we know how awesome God is.  Knowing how awesome God is will show you how awesome you are and so we can keep moving forward on our believer’s marathon path and win the race set before us.  The race is won when we leave behind people that realize how awesome they are because we shared with them how awesome God is.  Keep up the attitude of gratitude.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Wow! These are some of the same realizations I’ve been having recently! What a confirmation. 🙂 A book I was reading yesterday quotes the Bible verse of 1 Thessalonians 5:16 which says, “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” I’ve been thinking about this a lot in the past 24 hours. My current circumstances are the LORD’s will for ME. How could I not be thankful? Thank you, Jesus, for every circumstance in our lives! Thank you for your goodness!

Leave a Reply

