The Breath of Life

So I spoke this message, just as he told me.  Suddenly as I spoke, there was a rattling noise all across the valley.  The bones of each body came together and attached themselves as complete skeletons.  Then as I watched, muscles and flesh formed over the bones.  Then skin formed to cover their bodies, but they still had no breath in them.  Then he said to me, “Speak a prophetic message to the winds, son of man. Speak a prophetic message and say, ‘this is what the Sovereign Lord says: Come, O breath, from the four winds!  Breathe into these dead bodies so they may live again.’”  So I spoke the message as he commanded me, and breath came into their bodies. They all came to life and stood up on their feet—a great army.  Then he said to me, “Son of man, these bones represent the people of Israel.  They are saying, ‘We have become old, dry bones—all hope is gone.  Our nation is finished.’  Therefore, prophesy to them and say, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: O my people, I will open your graves of exile and cause you to rise again.  Then I will bring you back to the land of Israel.  When this happens, O my people, you will know that I am the Lord.  I will put my Spirit in you, and you will live again and return home to your own land.  Then you will know that I, the Lord, have spoken, and I have done what I said.  Yes, the Lord has spoken!’”  Ezekiel 37:7-14

Breathing Life
Breathing Life (Photo credit: priyaswtc)

As I was taking my morning run the other day God put on my heart to write a blog on the breath of life and it’s meaning.  The reason that this came to mind was it was a very humid day and very hard to breathe.  Then later in the week, I heard an awesome song by Chris Tomlin called Awake My Soul.  The words are “breathe on me, breath of God” and the song discusses the above scriptures.  That scripture in Ezekiel 37 is so wild.  God resurrects an entire army to make a point to Ezekiel the prophet.  What an amazing story and what an amazing God we serve.  There are several different ways the breath of life affects our lives.

First and foremost it is the breath of life for us physically.  Without oxygen, we will suffer and die.  I can attest to this as I have had asthma all my life and that disease can be quite frightening when you cannot breathe.  One time a few years ago, I had the worst attack ever and literally, my oxygen level was down almost under 50%, which is quite serious.  I had to force air into my lungs until I got to the emergency room. It wasn’t long until the drugs took effect and I was able to fill my lungs up with oxygen.  God provides the oxygen so that we can breathe; it’s just so amazing how our bodies work.

The breath of life shapes our soul.  People can speak life into you or they can speak death.  A life-giver will use the breath of life to give you encouragement and love, to strengthen, and to shape your soul.  God does this on an even higher level, but also will provide those friends and loved ones we need to move us forward.  Likewise, we need to be life-givers back; we need to do the same thing.  God is the ultimate life-giver and we were created in His image, so we need to do, as He does, love unconditionally.

The last way the breath of life affects us is through the Holy Spirit.  Let us understand one thing; we cannot be a life-giver without the Holy Spirit being involved in our lives.  We are excessively selfish to be life-givers without the Holy Spirit.  We can make the initial choice to be life-giving, but to sustain that in one’s life makes that a Holy Spirit power thing.  Love and self-control are the sandwich bread for all the other fruits of the spirit.  When we decide to read our bibles every day, when we decide to worship God and pray every day we introduce love and self-control into our lives.  Keeping ourselves healthy is a great way to worship God because we are saying we love ourselves enough to keep ourselves healthy.

The breath of life affects our whole being, the physical, the soul, and the spiritual.  We can have life spoken into us from other life-givers and we can be life-givers back.  If you want to live a positive and influential life the best way to do this is to be a life-giver and speak the breath of life into people.  This is the best way to mimic our God who does this all the time.  Speaking life into people will put flesh and breath on those dry bones.

Have you experienced a life-giver or have you been a life-giver yourself?

[David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

Leave a Reply

