Falling While Rising

English: Logarithmic spiral
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For a righteous man falls seven times, and rises again,

But the wicked stumble in time of calamity.  Proverbs 24:16

I had the opportunity last weekend to hear a new Christian band called Falling While Rising.  What I liked besides there music was their very deep name.  It had me thinking about that name and I have some things to share with you about falling while rising.

The scripture for the band’s name I do believe comes from Proverbs 24:16.  One of my greatest falls was the gradual fall into depression and obesity.  I think the depression was there before the obesity took over.  The obesity was the outcome of the depression.  Then my health plummeted when I was diagnosed with congestive heart failure.  What I find comforting is that while my life at the time was complete hell, God was positioning me into an upward spiral.  There are some things that we can learn when we are in the upward spiral.

The most important lesson we can learn when we fall or fail is that we are not at the end.  It may seem like we are at the end, but we really aren’t.  All of this has to do with your attitude.  I have to say my attitude probably needed adjustment and God was able to use some very positive people to adjust my attitude.  If you are to get into that awesome journey of the upward spiral, you have to have an attitude that can get you there.  Attitude can be a deal maker or a deal breaker.  A positive attitude will give you determination as you rise from your low point.

Determination is the next thing we can learn was we go through out upward spiral journey.  God gave me some positive people as I was rising; the encouragement from them was priceless and kept moving me up.  God will give you people and circumstances that will give you what I call moments of realization.  Moments of realization are those moments where you realize that you are going in the right direction in your upward spiral.  This develops courage.

Courage is confidence that you get when your moments of realization which are the gems of awareness of what God is doing in your life.  A spiral starts at a slow momentum and builds intensity until it is an unstoppable force.  Courage is the intensity phase when the momentum starts taking over.  As you continue on this God given path, your journey becomes strong and sure.  One thing that gave me courage was encouragement from friends.  As the weight came off, my body became physically stronger and my heart and mind were taken out of the cloudiness of the depression I was in.  Don’t get me wrong there are still plateaus to get past, but for the most part the upward spiral keeps going toward the goal God has in mind for you.

Falling is a blessing in disguise, because without the fall, how can we ever learn to rise?  How can we ever learn from our mistakes or circumstances we find ourselves in?  Our attitude gives us determination to keep going and then we have moments of realization that bring us to courage.  Courage gives us the confidence to continue into our upward spiral.  God’s path is a winding spiral that leads to the goal He has in mind for you.

Have you ever experience an upward spiral?  How was your attitude doing that time?

[David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

Leave a Reply

