The Believers Marathon Part 11: Fuel It Up!

Jason and Dustin at the Outdoor Demo
(Photo credit: hammer_nutrition)

Study this Book of Instruction continually.  Meditate on it day and night, so you will be sure to obey everything written in it.  Only then, will you prosper and succeed in all you do.  Joshua 1:8

Christine Caine in her awesome book Run to Win talks about the next important thing a runner needs and that is the correct fuel at the correct time.  I can attest to this from running the half marathon I ran a couple of years ago.  I made sure I had the right fuel amount at the right time.  My water had some Hammer product called Heed in it.  What it does is it provides electrolytes that are lost during the run.  Meaning it keeps the runner from dehydrating.  The other item of fuel I had with me is the Hammer Gel, which gives me some carbohydrates taken when the hour mark hits, because after the hour if there is no carbohydrate present you start to take from your muscle mass.  The same thing happens in our spiritual life, if we don’t keep up with the fuel of God’s word, a consistent diet of encouragement, we can start going back to where we came from.  The above verse needs to be broken down.

Joshua says to study the bible or book of instruction constantly.  The bible is not just a book, but also a supernatural sound piece God uses to communicate His will for our lives.  His word is alive and well and will address any situation we may find ourselves in.  It gives us strength, purpose, comfort, and encouragement when we need it.  God’s word is His love letter to us and so we need to pay attention to it more often than we do.  How do we look at this awesome book constantly?

Joshua says to meditate on it, think about it all day.  When we meditate that does not mean we are in an Indian sitting position saying some kind of mantra.  It means we are thinking about and praying about God’s word that we had read earlier in the day.  As I sit here and write this blog, I am still wondering how I went so many years without getting into God’s word like have now.  I never really read it every day.  I would read it on Sunday and maybe once during the week, but for the most part I really didn’t keep a practice of being consistent with it. Only when I was near death did I really grasp the important ingredient I was missing in my life.  It was the inner transformation I needed to get to the outer transformation I so desired all my life.

Obedience comes when we read His word daily, constantly, all the time.  The first step to obeying God is to read His word.  The first step to having a relationship with Him is to know Him better and we cannot do that unless we read His word.  If there is one thing I hope you understand in this blog other than how much God loves you, is how much you need to love His word.  If you can love His word, wow, you are on a powerful path to strength, peace, and confidence in your life.  Reading this word and obeying everything in it will change you and move you on the path that will lead to righteousness and godly living.

When you are on that path, everything along the way will prosper and you will thrive.  Now I am not saying that you won’t fall or fail, but I will say God will provide you with constant turning points.  Meaning He will turn the bad situation into a good situation and you will build your character.  You will learn as you burn, but God will never leave you or forsake you.  I would not be telling you this if it was not the truth that I have experience in my life.  When I started reading His word, success followed me as I lost weight and began this amazing journey of relevant living.  If you are not successful, maybe your success is found in the book that may be sitting on your shelf collecting dust.  Charles Spurgeon once said,   “A Bible that’s falling apart usually belongs to someone who isn’t.”

I just focused on one fuel that we need to keep going in this race we call the Christian life.  Christine Caine has some other points that we should consider.  Please check it out and buy the book, it’s well worth the read.  Focused attention on God’s word everyday all day will provide you with the success in life you are looking to find.  Purpose and direction and vision will keep you moving forward on the race path and will keep you fueled to finish strong.

What are some other fuels we can use to move us along in the Christian race?

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

Leave a Reply

