Insecurity Defeated

Let all that I am wait quietly before God,

Insecurity by zummi
Insecurity by zummi (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

for my hope is in him.

He alone is my rock and my salvation,

my fortress where I will not be shaken.

My victory and honor come from God alone.

He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me.

O my people, trust in him at all times.

Pour out your heart to him,

for God is our refuge.  Psalm 62:5-8

Insecurity is the fear of being who you really are.  It’s also the fear of not leaving your comfort zone.  Our comfort zones give us a secure feeling.  One of my biggest comfort zones used to be my food intake.  I would lose myself and emotionally eat.  Just one more Oreo cookie and I know I will be happy.  Happy only as long as my health starts to plummet due to too much weight gain.  Other people find solace in drugs, sex and other vices that fill the God shaped void in our hearts.  Another way to put it is you are secure in your own self-made prison that you don’t want to leave.  Being afraid of who we are is saying to God that we don’t like how you made us.  We have complete control over our insecurities, although the enemy likes to tell us we don’t.  Attitudes shape our insecurities and can bring us up on a higher plane, or bring us down into misery, it’s all our choice.  In a prior blog, I talked about agape love, self-control, and confidence.  A fellow blogger friend asked me to expound on how insecurity is mixed in all of this.  Today’s blog is my attempt in explaining these ideas.

The above Psalm talks about security in God.  David knew how not to worry, he let God do all the worrying for him.  Confidence comes when we are patient in waiting on God as David reflects in the first verse.  Our confidence in God breeds patience.  When we have patience and confidence in God, we also display self-control.  When we wait patiently on God, we find confidence and security.  David had a lot of history with God and had the confidence to wait on Him and not go ahead of Him.  When he killed Goliath, he remembered how God delivered him from the lion and the bear.  A practical way to keep track and remember all that God has done for you is to keep track in a prayer journal.  In all honesty, the only time we should be looking back is to see the good, not the bad that keeps us insecure.

David goes on to say that victory and honor come from God.  Honor is respect with love mixed in the middle of it.  That type of love is the unconditional love God has for us.  When we honor God we honor others and ourselves.  We don’t have to be insecure, but secure because the victory is ours when we love this way.  Insecurity keeps us from loving people the way God wants us to because we are too afraid to put our heart out on the line.  Over the last few years I have learned to love this way by really loving and seeing myself the way God sees me.  My attitude is I am going to love people even though they may be hurtful to me at some point.  I am not afraid anymore, I used to, but God’s love is deep down in my heart and I can love deeply.

David concludes and says that we should trust God at all times.  This takes some self-control in not allowing ourselves to be overtaken by our fears.  The enemy will come at us with the negative thoughts that always work on us to keep us in our place.  Insecurity says I know better than God does when it comes to my life choices.  By the way, there is a difference in self-control and just being controlling.  When you are controlling you allow your insecurities make your life decisions for you.  Trusting God with your life and learning to wait on Him you will have self-control.

Insecurity is defeated when we use self-control, confidence, and agape love in our lives to make life choices.  When we put our confidence in Him, we become confident ourselves like the little boy who is in awe of his daddy.  We know we have a great big God that is before us, behind us, and beside us.  Where is insecurity when we have that much power on our side?

What makes you insecure in your life and what can be done to overcome it?

[David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. His grace is sufficient… great post. Amen.

    1. asd539 says:

      Thanks Nini, amen!

  2. Insecurity it a tough one, and difficult to control when it rears its ugly head. For me, I am insecure that my man will choose someone else. So, it makes me feel like I have to try to be perfect for him to be faithful and always love me, and we all know it’s impossible to be PERFECT!! This insecurity has lot to do with this pattern in marriage of ones I love, my first true love who had “issues,” and the last man I seriously dated who had a whole hidden life of sleeping around while being a strong leader in the church. I’ve been working through this in a lot of ways–processing, talking through it, read books, praying, studying the Bible, etc. Healing and restoration are definitely working in me, but wow is it a LONG process!!

    1. asd539 says:

      Bethany, wow, thanks for being so transparent to give us an understanding of how insecurity can really hurt us in our future. Let me say this that your faith is stronger and much better today than when you had to deal with that hurt because of that hurt. If that would not have happened the character you show today would not be here. So that pain is a blessing in disguise and made you a much stronger person. You could have turned your back on the church, but the root was deep in you and so you continue to flourish.

Leave a Reply

