The 14 Rules of a Life-giver

I posted this last September and thought it was worth re-posting this week with the thought of Spring just around the corner.  Love is a very important part to any Life-giver’s heart and is a healer in relationships of any kind.

Love ? I love love love you.
Love ? I love love love you. (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. I Corinthians 13:4-7

The eyes that look deep into my soul, that see me for who I really am and accept me.  The eyes that melt my fear away, until there is nothing but faith and confidence.  The eyes that say to me everything happens for a reason and it will build my character.  The eyes that are proud of me even though I may make a mistake from time to time.  The eyes that give me hope through the storms of life and give me purpose.  The eyes that say I love you no matter what happens and I will never leave you or forsake you.  These are the eyes of the ultimate life-giver, Jesus Christ.  We are made in His own image and should follow in His footsteps as life-givers to others in our own sphere of influence.  The love chapter that is always used at weddings is more than just a reminder of how we should love our spouses, but within it are the 14 rules of a life-giver.  These 14 rules not only help give life to those around us when we use them, but they give more life to the life-giver.  In the bible the perfect number is 7, 7X2=14.  Double the perfect number therefore doubles the importance of this passage of scripture.  If you follow the 14 rules of a life-giver, you fulfill God’s 10 commandments that really are a recipe for a significant life.

  • Rule #1: Patience is the number one rule of a life-giver.  When showing impatience you are not showing any kind of love whatsoever.  I know because I can be a very impatient person at times and it never helps in any situation.  It hurts more than it helps and can drive a wedge between people.  Patience brings people together; it says you mean more to me than my own agenda.
  • Rule #2:  Kindness is always being affectionate toward people no matter who they are.  Having a positive attitude even though the person you are showing this attitude to, might have a bad attitude.  Giving that gloomy looking Wal-mart checker a smile and an enthusiastic “hello, how are you” might just be the thing that lifts that person’s spirit.
  • Rule #3:  A life-giver does not have a green tone to their skin.  In other words, they are not envious.  They don’t desire what others have, but want to give what others don’t have.  They encourage and give, not envy and take.
  • Rule #4:  Life-givers don’t brag on themselves, they brag on other people as a means to lift them up.  They brag on what God has done in their lives, not what they have done for God.  They are genuinely humble when someone brags on them; meaning they say thank you and leave it at that.
  • Rule #5:  They are not arrogant.  We all are egocentric in some way, but life-givers have this way of knowing that the world does not revolve around them.  They have a humble spirit and think that the world revolves around others.
  • Rule #6:  Rule #5 goes into this rule; they are humble and honor others above themselves.  Jesus did this countless times when He was walking on this earth and paid the ultimate honor to us by dying for us on the cross.  Being an honorable person is a strength of leadership.
  • Rule #7:  Life-givers don’t think of themselves and what they can do to elevate their position.  They are not selfish.  They are always putting others above themselves and are finding ways to elevate others in moving forward in life.
  • Rule #8:  Anger is not an option to a life-giver, they are intentional in their emotions.  They look ahead and plan out a loving response that builds up an issue than a hateful angry one that tears down.  They use anger wisely and in godly terms.
  • Rule# 9:  Life-givers have a forgiving heart above all else.  They don’t hold grudges and seek revenge for wrongs done to them.  They get the power pack by forgiving and moving on in life; they don’t keep a constant anchor to the past.
  • Rule #10:  Truth is a constant conviction for a life-giver.  They keep it positive and don’t allow evil to be a part of their lives.  They share truth in a positive way; they use tact as a way of expressing truth.  A tactful positive approach is always the number 1 way to share truth with people.
  • Rule #11:  Protection is of utmost importance to a life-giver.  They always are concerned about peoples well being.  They protect the people they love from harm.  If at all possible they will even protect strangers because of the unconditional love they express all the time.
  • Rule #12:  They always trust people until trust is broken, and when that happens they refer back to rule #9, forgive, and move on.  They don’t agree with the broken trust or support it, they just move on.  Trust will have to be rebuilt over time.
  • Rule #13:  When the trust is broken and forgiveness is given, there is hope for the relationship.  Hope is always a big thing for the life-giver, they hope for themselves as well as hope for others.  Hope is putting their faith into action and their love into momentum.
  • Rule #14:  They have unbelievable energy and stamina. Love is the fuel of a life-giver.  They love God, people and themselves so much that the love is a fuel for their lives.  Selflessness is a constant motivator for them.

When you use these life-giver rules, you have a powerhouse of love for other people and can make a significant impact in your life and the life of others.  These rules are really attitudes we should adopt as part of our lives.  These are bridge builders for the cause of Christ and will build relationships and heal people’s hearts.  The life-giver rules are God’s unconditional love put into action.  Use them to change your world.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Aimee says:

    What a fresh perspective on that oh-so-familiar passage! Thanks for sharing with us. I’ve got a lot of work to do! 😉

    1. asd539 says:

      Thanks Aimee, it’s been in my heart for awhile. So do I. 🙂

  2. johnny says:

    it makes you think about were you are in you life. i think you might have said it all this time. awesome!

    1. asd539 says:

      Thanks big bro. 🙂

  3. Mel says:

    Thanks for really unpacking this scripture! These verses are so well known and most people can recite them but how many people really live and apply them? And I like the way you’re using the term “life-giver” here. By the way, I also like the new look of your site! 🙂

    1. asd539 says:

      Thanks for the comment Mel. This one has been in my heart for awhile and when it came out it was some smooth writing. I don’t know where I got the term life-giver from, but I think it’s so appropriate to what I have experienced in my own life and continue to. There are a lot of people in my church that I would consider life-givers and some awesome friends that have come along side me to help transform my life. 🙂

  4. Rule #9 and Rule #13; what would you say is the key to fully forgiving someone who has caused significant hurt or broken relationships? what would you say helps moving past the stage of anger to full freedom?

    1. asd539 says:

      The key to forgiveness is understanding that the mere act of forgiving does not condone someone else’s hurtful behavior toward you. It’s saying that the memory of what they did will no longer have an influence on future decisions. It took me 37 years to realize I was holding on to an unforgiving spirit and when I finally did forgive the transformation of my life was unreal and the love I have for people is unending. A starting point is to just start praying for the person who wronged you and even if you don’t feel like you forgave them, keep doing it, eventually you will truly forgive. Anger only fuels fear, which takes away from faith. I guess what I am saying is don’t allow yourself to be lead by your heart, lead your heart. We all have the freedom of choice.

      1. I have been thinking quite a bit about your comment: “lead your heart.” That’s really good. I’m going to keep meditating on it for awhile. So good!!

      2. asd539 says:

        Awesome, check out my blog tomorrow, I re-posted one I did in January for you and anyone who needs it. Unfortunately I am an expert on an unforgiving spirit since I had one for 37 years and it almost destroyed me. What I had to deal with most people would say I was justified in not forgiving, but God wants us to forgive no matter how terrible the situation.

Leave a Reply

