Substituting our 911′s with 119′s Part 22: Worship and the Law of Love

Praise and worship during a Planetshakers conf...
Praise and worship during a Planetshakers conference, 2005 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Psalm 119:169-176 Taw

O Lord, listen to my cry; give me the discerning mind you promised.

Listen to my prayer; rescue me as you promised.

Let praise flow from my lips, for you have taught me your decrees.

Let my tongue sing about your word, for all your commands are right.

Give me a helping hand, for I have chosen to follow your commandments.

O Lord, I have longed for your rescue, and your instructions are my delight.

Let me live so I can praise you, and may your regulations help me.

I have wandered away like a lost sheep; come and find me, for I have not forgotten your commands.

I want to thank all my blog followers for staying with me on this very long series.  I have to admit I really had no idea how long this would take, but 22 parts is very long.  I promise the next series will be fresher and won’t take as long.  I’m certain I have hit on some redundancy in my writing over the past few weeks.  Let’s get into this last part of Psalm 119.

The focus the Psalmist is talking about here is praise.  His praise is due to God rescuing him and doing what God always does, turning a bad situation into a good situation.  There are different ways we praise God.  The first way I like to think about is praising Him with our bodies.  For me running and being active plus trying to eat healthy is a lifestyle of praise to God.  It tells God that my body means something to me and that I want to take care of it.  When we consecrate our bodies to God it takes on an even greater meaning as well, it means we don’t subject it to unhealthy relationships.

We also worship with reading God’s word and prayer in our daily quiet times.  I will spend some time in the morning set aside before anything else reading God’s word.  It’s a very important thing for each believer in Christ to do every day. It helps to make my day a more positive one because I can get direction and strength in reading God’s word.  The Psalmist here demonstrates it by taking about God’s decrees and commands.  That’s what this whole series has been pointed at God’s holy word.  When we read it, and we pray over it, that’s how we talk to God and how God talks to us.

Another and final way we worship is with our brothers and sisters in corporate worship in a local church.  There is nothing like being with likeminded people of God.  Finding a bible believing, shame free environment is the first thing believers should look for in a church.  Those brothers and sisters are there for you to give you strength when life throws the nasty curve balls.  We can also serve others in this capacity and pass on God’s love that we have experienced.  Worship in church is not just in the worship service, it’s serving others and helping them through the tough times of life.

This set of verses is a great conclusion to the longest chapter in the Bible.  Worshiping God with reading His word daily will rescue us from a nasty life that we could have otherwise.  We can turn our emergencies or 911’s into 119’s with God’s holy word.  It’s life giving and teaches us something that we need to know and that is how to love.  When we love ourselves by taking care of our bodies, when we read and pray and when we come together in worship in God’s house we are fulfilling the law of love found in Matthew 22:37-40.  The law of love is what the Psalmist is taking about throughout the whole chapter.  Without the law of love, we cannot really have light in our lives and we won’t shine forth and be a light in the darkness.  There is no such thing as darkness, only absence of light.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

