Substituting our 911′s with 119′s Part 18: Dreams and Goals For the New Year

Seattle New Years Eve 2011
Seattle New Years Eve 2011 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Psalm 119:137-144 Tsadhe

O Lord, you are righteous,

and your regulations are fair.

Your laws are perfect

and completely trustworthy.

I am overwhelmed with indignation,

for my enemies have disregarded your words.

Your promises have been thoroughly tested;

that is why I love them so much.

I am insignificant and despised,

but I don’t forget your commandments.

Your justice is eternal,

and your instructions are perfectly true.

As pressure and stress bear down on me,

I find joy in your commands.

Your laws are always right;

help me to understand them so I may live.

One of the best things we can learn about God’s word is that it is very much life giving.  The Psalmist here is talking about how God’s word keeps us from stress of everyday life and how trustworthy it is.  As we head into a new year, I want to talk about goals and dreams with this scripture.  I know the Psalmist here is not talking about goals and dreams specifically, but when you have a goal and a dream, this gives your life purpose.  Let’s talk about how the Psalmist here is talking about three different circumstances in life that can be overcome with allowing ourselves to dream and have a goal to get that purpose.

I have done the New Year’s resolution thing over the past few years, but have stopped in the last four because I never really resolve anything with them.  Instead I write a list of goals, in three different aspects.  The first is spiritual goals.  I list all the growth I want to see in my life in God.  The next is vocational goals, what my goals are in as far as my career.  The final set of goals I list is my physical goals, I list all of my running events I want be involved in.  Goals work better than resolutions, and you don’t have to achieve them all.

The first thing the Psalmist says here is he is angry.  He is angry because the enemies do not listen to God’s word.  I think the anger he is displaying here is righteous anger, which is not a sin, but still anger.  Righteous anger can give us a passion we never thought we had.  It gives us more of a purpose to what God wants us to do.  Let your passion be in your goal setting.  If something makes you angry, you probably should make a goal of changing that, in whatever way you can.  Usually we get angry about something and do absolutely nothing to help fix it or resolve it.  Then our angry words become a waste of energy.

The next thing the Psalmist says is he is insignificant and despised.  I think if he is out there rocking the boat and moving his passion forward he is anything but insignificant.  Despised yes, but not insignificant.    When you have a dream and a purpose to your life you will make enemies along the way.  You will have opposition; because the enemy does not want you to succeed.  God’s purposes will always be fulfilled and it may be not in your lifetime.  The goals we pursue keep us on the road to being significant and more than likely despised.  Even though you may have opposition along the way, God still gives us moments of reassurance that we are on the right track.

Finally the Psalmist talks about all the stress that is in his life from pursuing the things of God.  We will have pressure and stress, but it’s the best stress in the world because it comes from the knowledge of knowing we are in God’s will.  Moments of encouragement help us through the stress and God’s word, as the Psalmist puts here, is the best way to get encouragement other than the significant people God puts in our lives.

God takes three negative aspects that can be destructive in our lives and makes them positive.  Anger gives us motivation and passion.  Being despised and opposed shows we are on the right track. Finally stress keeps us striving forward to realize God’s path and plan to achieve our goals and dreams.  Not everything is going to happen perfect like in a Hollywood movie, true life is going to build character and strength in you if you allow God to turn the negatives into positives.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

Leave a Reply

