Substituting our 911′s with 119′s Part 16: Unarmed Truth and Uncondtional Love

Martin Luther King, Jr.
Martin Luther King, Jr. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Psalm 119:121-128  Ayin

Don’t leave me to the mercy of my enemies,

for I have done what is just and right.

Please guarantee a blessing for me.

Don’t let the arrogant oppress me!

My eyes strain to see your rescue,

to see the truth of your promise fulfilled.

I am your servant; deal with me in unfailing love,

and teach me your decrees.

Give discernment to me, your servant;

then I will understand your laws.

Lord, it is time for you to act,

for these evil people have violated your instructions.

Truly, I love your commands

more than gold, even the finest gold.

Each of your commandments is right.

That is why I hate every false way.

I believe that unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word in reality. This is why right, temporarily defeated, is stronger than evil triumphant. ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

The Psalmist here learns and shares with us what the guaranteed blessing is and that is living by the truth.  Truth sets us free as Jesus has said and it’s very true.  It sets us up to love unconditionally as the quote by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. says.  Truth and unconditional love go together.  Dr. King was sharing the truth of the evil of racism.  How it was keeping the African American people in a place of limitation.  After all God created us all equal, we breathe the same air, we bleed the same red.  God put it on his heart to lead greatly and with reckless abandon to share this truth even though it cost him and his family greatly with his death.  Truth has a way of bringing great cost to those that share it.  Even though that evil was done to him, Dr. King was all about unconditional love.  He never once advocated the use of violence to support the rights he was fighting for.  His above quote is prophetic.  Right was temporally defeated, but is was so much more powerful than the evil that was done to him and his family.  Change occurred because of his death and maybe today not to the degree he hoped, but looking at my brothers and sisters in a diverse congregation of my church I see what he wanted to see and here in Memphis Tennessee where he was killed.

I have this great example of how truth and unconditional love can come together for a cause greater than ourselves and make change happen.  Before I start this story understand one thing, I am not saying my church is perfect, I am not saying it is the church above all churches, I will say what my Pastor John Siebeling shared last week, that in our church we don’t just do church we are the church.  What he means is that we are out in our community making changes with the power of God behind us.  The story begins more than a year ago where God placed on my Pastor’s heart to feed the children in the zip code 38108 which is the most starving zip code in the United States.  My Pastor was presented with the hard-pressed truth of this statistic.  So we decided as a church to feed elementary school children and added more schools as the year went on.  We finally added that last school in the zip code this month and have changed that statistic around in one year.  God is so awesome to help us to achieve this through the generosity of the community and our own generous congregation.  Unarmed truth was presented, and unconditional love was given, that was the reality of the situation.

Last week we gave away bikes to these kids, and came together as a church and put them all together in three nights.  That day a woman came with here three kids expecting to get just one bike for the three of them.  She explained to them that only one was getting a bike.  One of our volunteers was compelled to give them three tickets so that all the kids could get a bike.  That  woman was in tears and did not expect that unconditional love that was given at that moment.  Small acts of kindness bring about hope and change to people that society has not lifted up.  The government can’t do anything to help, only the church being the church.  That’s you and me going into bad neighborhoods with the power of the Holy Spirit behind us giving small acts of kindness that mean a great deal to people that don’t have much hope.

Right temporarily defeated is more powerful than evil triumphant.  I think what happened last Saturday would make Dr. King proud.  It makes me feel good to know that I am living just a sliver of his dream that he talked about.  Dreams never die especially when they are godly visions.  Dr. King’s dream was a godly vision and it’s awesome to see it happening in the very city that took his life for the rights he was fighting for.  Truth and unconditional love are the reality of life, not struggling with the negative circumstances we find ourselves in once in a while.  Living by truth and unconditional love is always a victory over evil.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

Leave a Reply

