Who Are You? Are You An Inspiration?

Don't douse your light
Don’t douse your light

The more you like yourself, the less you are like anyone else, which makes you unique. ~Walt Disney

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

your works are wonderful,

I know that full well. Psalm 139:14

You are the light of the world—like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden. No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father. Matthew 5:147-16

The question is who are you?  Not who are you in Christ, but who are you?  What brings passion to your life?  Mark Batterson one of my favorite authors asks in his book Wild Goose Chase, what makes you sad, glad or mad?  It may be that it looks as if I am separating God from our passion, which is far from where I am going.  God is an integral part of our passion; He shapes our character to conform to our passion.  Who are you is your character when no one sees you or knows what you are doing.  The larger picture of loving ourselves is to understand how much God really loves us.  When we can do this and understand this we can be a beacon of light to those around us that are still in the darkness and help them see their own self-worth.  In essence, we are being an inspiration in a dark world that needs to have inspiration to move people into the next part of their lives.  Knowing who you are helps you to become the inspiration you should be in order for you to become the lighthouse God wants you to be.

For me I did not like myself for most of my life.  I was over weight and very unconfident as to what my own potential was.  I had no clue that I could even write, but here I am writing this blog every week and working toward getting a book published.  When I came to terms with who I was, I did not like what I saw.  I saw an overweight depressed man that had no future planned no dream to fulfill.  When I began losing my weight and started liking myself as the Walt Disney quote above talks about, I began to see myself the way God sees me.  God sees me perfect without blemish.  Jesus when He did His work on the cross was able to take all of my punishment on Himself and to reconcile me to God and everyone else.  Most people really don’t want to deal with themselves as Walt Disney eludes to in his quote.  When you know who you are, you will be different from everyone else and unique.

<st1:bcv_smarttag_14>Psalm 139 is probably one of my favorite Psalms because it was given to me by God right at the correct time to help me understand why I had so much joy in my life. I could not put a finger on why I was so joyful.  This Psalm help me understand that joy and why I was so joyful, and that was because I was awesome according to God.  The first word used here to describe what God did when He made you and me is fearfully.  Webster’s 1828 dictionary says that fearfully means in a manner to impress admiration and astonishment.  God impresses admiration and astonishment.  He always takes us by surprise and His ways are not our ways.  We cannot even pretend to know one tenth of all of God.  That is the astonishment part.  The admiration part comes in when we know how much He loves us.

The next key word is wonderfully.  Wonderfully means in a manner to excite wonder of surprise.  I take wonderfully as we are excited at what we can learn about ourselves.  What a cool way to understand ourselves is when we realize that wonderful potential that is in all of us.  The problem is we don’t try to tap into that potential because we are uncomfortable or we are afraid of making a fool of ourselves.  Sometimes we have had failure after failure and just don’t want to deal with it anymore and so we succumb to the mundane.  The wonderful thing about our lives is we can have these awesome second chances, third, fourth or fifth if need be, before we find the potential of what we are looking for.  Maybe a better word here is purpose.  The wonder of surprise in our lives is when we make a habit of stepping out of our comfort zone and finding a passion for the purpose we have.

The last scripture is talking about not keeping our passion or purpose a secret; not keeping our joy to ourselves.  On Thanksgiving, I posted Gratitude, the Power of the Pass it On.  In it, I talk about how powerful it is to pass on our passion.  We cannot keep our light doused, it has to be shown as Jesus was talking about in this scripture.  It needs to be seen by all.  Shame on us if we are blessed and don’t share that blessing with others.  It’s so important for us to do this.

Who you are involves seeing you the way God sees you and finding a passion or purpose to your life.  Follow that dream you have, God gave it to you for a purpose.  Don’t douse your light, let it shine before man so that they can see your work and praise God who deserves it all.

What makes you sad, glad or mad?  What is your passion or purpose?

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shirley Anne says:

    Unless we love ourselves by seeing how wonderfully we have been made by our Creator God we cannot begin to love others for God made them too! The thing is that those who don’t know God don’t realise they are. We can be beacons of light in their lives and perhaps they too will turn to God and understand how fearful and wonderfully made they are. My passion? It’s being a faithful witness for The Lord.

    Shirley Anne x

    1. asd539 says:

      Thanks for the comment, you always add to my posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

