Substituting our 911′s with 119′s Part 15: Do You Give God Indigestion?

Fence
Fence (Photo credit: gfpeck)

Psalm 119:113-120  Samekh

I hate those with divided loyalties,

but I love your instructions.

You are my refuge and my shield;

your word is my source of hope.

Get out of my life, you evil-minded people,

for I intend to obey the commands of my God.

Lord, sustain me as you promised, that I may live!

Do not let my hope be crushed.

Sustain me, and I will be rescued;

then I will meditate continually on your decrees.

But you have rejected all who stray from your decrees.

They are only fooling themselves.

You skim off the wicked of the earth like scum;

no wonder I love to obey your laws!

I tremble in fear of you;

I stand in awe of your regulations.

The Psalmist here does not pull any punches.  He says he hates those with divided loyalty.  Loyalty in essence means to be faithful to something or someone.  If you are a divided loyalty, you are not good for either side good or bad.  Trust is something beyond your grasp.  Revelation 3:16:  “But since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth!”  When we are sitting on the fence, we cannot do anything for either side and we give God a sour stomach.  For me I can stomach body temperature water, but not lukewarm water.  There is a little heat to it and I just want to spit it out like what Jesus is saying here in Revelation to the church at Laodicea.  Lukewarm water is not going to cook anything either, nor is it going to preserve anything.  It just is plain useless if you think about it.  Our God is a light or dark God, you are either light or you are dark, you cannot be both.  You are either for God or you are against Him.  The Psalmist gives us practical things to look out for that shows us if we are a fence sitter that gives God indigestion.

The first thing he points out is his love for God’s word.  God’s word is like a shield to him, a refuge.  He knows he can always rely on God’s word.  Just recently, I went through some doubtful time when I thought I had a financial burden, so I relied on God’s word to get me through this troubled time.  It turned out to be fine and we really didn’t have to sweat it.  Instead of worrying, I looked to God and reminded myself every time worry would hit me that I am on the top not the bottom, that I am the head and not the tail.  I reminded myself of who I am in Christ with God’s scripture in my head.

The next way we can know we are not fence sitting is who do you have in your life?  What kind of people do you surround yourself with?  Are they good for you spiritually?  The Psalmist here again is straight forward, he says to get out of his life evil minded people.  You may be involved in a relationship that is not worthy of you.  You many have to get out of that relationship, it may hurt, but in the long run it is the best thing for you to do.  We don’t need people bringing us down to their level and making us a source for God’s indigestion.

The last point is to make sure you stay on the path God has directed you to.  We need to stay strong despite opposition along the way.  Keep the godly dream you have alive and let your passion move you forward whatever that may be.  For me my passion is to see people realize their own self-worth and know that they don’t have to be trapped in their bodies if they don’t want to be.  You can be set free if you know that you have within yourself the capacity to change.  Stay the course God has set before you and you are not a source for His indigestion.

There are three tests to make sure you are not lukewarm.  The first is do you spend time with God, praying and reading His word?  Do you spend time with God’s people, your church family that loves you?  Lastly, are you staying on the path that God has directed you to? Know and understand on thing here, we are striving to perfection, but we are not perfect.  We will make mistakes along the way, but God always loves the person that gets back on the horse and continues what He started in your life.  We can have comfort in knowing the advocate is always with us in the Holy Spirit.  If you do these things constantly, you are not a source for God’s indigestion.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shirley Anne says:

    No feet in both camps eh David? That’s why we have to keep stock of our activities and sweep our house clean. We’ve all been there I know but praise God who forgives us our sins when we repent of them and puts us back on the right course.

    Shirley Anne x

    1. asd539 says:

      Shirley Anne, yes, so true that we have the forgiveness. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

