Substituting our 911′s with 119′s Part 12: Constancy of Affection

Psalm 119:89-96 Lamedh

Your eternal word, O Lord,

stands firm in heaven.

Your faithfulness extends to every generation,

as enduring as the earth you created.

Your regulations remain true to this day,

for everything serves your plans.

If your instructions hadn’t sustained me with joy,

I would have died in my misery.

I will never forget your commandments,

for by them you give me life.

I am yours; rescue me!

For I have worked hard at obeying your commandments.

Though the wicked hide along the way to kill me,

I will quietly keep my mind on your laws.

Even perfection has its limits,

but your commands have no limit.

I found the Webster’s 1828 edition of the dictionary where there is no politically correct definitions, and looked up faithfulness.  Faithfulness is strict performance of promises, vows or covenants; constancy in affection.  The Psalmist here describes God’s word as a foundation that stands firm in heaven.  God’s word is a foundation in our lives.  On it, all of our good traits come out.  When we study His word, we find ourselves getting closer to God.  The key word here is study.  We have to study, think about, relate to, adhere it to our lives.  A hard truth here is that we cannot out do God’s faithfulness to us.  He has constancy of affection.  I love that phrase, constancy of affection.  Let’s talk about the faithfulness of God and His constancy of affection.

God’s faithfulness is intentional in it’s nature.  He planned it out long before He even created man.  What blows me away is the fact that He planned out His love for us before the frame of the earth was even created.  Just as God’s love is intentional, our love has to be intentional as well to Him and to other people.  We need to plan out our love.  How this is done is we take a situation and plan out a loving response to it.  To be real here it takes practice to do this, but when you start, it’s amazing how it affects all of your relationships.  Intentional love is constancy of affection in it’s purest form.  As the Psalmist says, it spans out to other generations.

God’s faithfulness gives us joy instead of misery.  Misery brings death; joy brings life.  The thing that brings more life and joy to us is our faithfulness to God.  We get this by being faithful to ourselves in reading and studying His word.  We meditate on His word day and night.  God’s constancy of affection is always there, but to understand it and to feel it we have to be constant in our reflecting and applying scripture to our lives.  This brings me to my final thought.

God’s faithfulness takes work to understand.  Our work that we do for God is so important to understand His faithfulness to us.  God’s constancy of affection is shown through His great favor He unleashes to us as we apply His word to our lives.  As I like to say God loves a moving target.  When applying scripture to our lives and live like God wants us and hopes for us to live, we find our world gets larger and more blessed.  We get to serve God in a much larger capacity than we ever would have thought possible.

God’s faithfulness is intentional in it’s nature.  It brings joy instead of misery.  It takes our loving godly work to really get a understanding of it.  God’s constancy of affection is all we need to jump-start our lives into a constancy of significance.  Love is always the key to a significant life, love for God, love for ourselves and love for others.

Question: How has God shown you His faithfulness or constancy of affection?  Please comment.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mel says:

    “CONSTANCY OF AFFECTION” says it all. I LOVE that phrase, too!!!!!! Powerful and beautiful and you expand on it very well like always! 🙂

    I think, to answer your question, God has shown His constant affection through-out my whole life. I was not raised in a Christian home, had never really been to church but a handful of times, and didn’t really know Him until I was about 19. I’m amazed how God brought me from where I was to where I am with Him now. I can see His fingerprints all over my past!!

    1. asd539 says:

      I can see that as well in your writing. Wow, you have come so far in such a short time. Awesome!!! Thanks for the comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

