Substituting our 911′s with 119′s Part 11: Being Expectant

Waiting..........
Waiting………. (Photo credit: davidyuweb)

Psalm 119:81-88 Kaph

I am worn out waiting for your rescue,

but I have put my hope in your word.

My eyes are straining to see your promises come true.

When will you comfort me?

I am shriveled like a wineskin in the smoke,

but I have not forgotten to obey your decrees.

How long must I wait?

When will you punish those who persecute me?

These arrogant people who hate your instructions

have dug deep pits to trap me.

All your commands are trustworthy.

Protect me from those who hunt me down without cause.

They almost finished me off,

but I refused to abandon your commandments.

In your unfailing love, spare my life;

then I can continue to obey your laws.

We can always have hope and protection from God in everyday life and through difficult circumstances.  God’s word tells us He will protect us from our enemies, countless times in the bible and even in this Psalm right here.  The Psalmist here may come across from a negative view, but on the contrary I think he or she is at the end of a weary journey, and is expectantly waiting on God.  It’s ok to be weary, after all we are human, but having a great attitude in that weariness is how we show our faith to God and anybody watching our dilemma.  Waiting to hear from God is how we should be living our daily life.  Being expectant can give us some major hope in our lives.  Let’s talk about some things that come from having an expectant attitude.

One thing the Psalmist is going through here is being weary in the wait.  That does not mean he or she is having doubt just that God seems to be taking a lot longer than what He should be taking.  Is that how you feel sometimes, that God is taking His sweet old time?  I feel like that is my life in a nutshell, that I keep hanging on to a dream and that one day it will come about, but only in God’s timing, not mine.  We can be weary in the wait, which is a human condition that happens when we don’t have a God view of the world and we are able to see the forest through the trees like God.  We are here on the earth in the flesh so we cannot even pretend to see the forest through the trees.  The expectant attitude gets us past this weary in the wait; because we already know God is going to come through.

Another idea that comes from an expectant attitude is always hope.  The Psalmist says he or she hopes in God’s word.  God’s word always gives us the hope we need to achieve that godly dream we have.  When we dream we hope.  It’s not a mistake to have a big dream, in fact the bigger the dream the more we have to know it’s a godly dream.  As long as it lines up with scripture.  Being expectant in God’s word gives us hope.

As we are being weary in the wait and we have hope in the future, we also know that God is trustworthy.  We can trust God is going to come through on His promises.  We can look at the past victories, see that God was in control all along, and know that He still is in control.  Putting our trust in God builds our faith up and we can see the hope coming.  It’s just an amazing cycle to this life that can encourage us and spur us past the weary in the wait phase that we all will go through.

The last thing I want to point out as the Psalmist does is we get protection from the enemy.  Our enemy will stop at nothing to derail us from God’s plan and dream for our lives.  God’s will is going to be done regardless of our participation or not.  God may find someone else in our place if we don’t act on what His dream is for us.  Not to say we don’t get another chance, we always have another chance with God, but we need to know that God will give us other opportunities if we miss a chance.  I spent 37 years trying to find my chance and missed it time and again, but after losing this weight and freeing myself from my own personal bondage I was able to overcome and realize where the opportunities were.

Having an expectant attitude gives us hope, trust and protection and keeps us fresh instead of weary in the wait.

Your time to share, do you have some big dreams that God has called you to, but are weary in the wait?  Please leave a comment.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. minkyweasel says:

    I ask God to show me what He wants of me and I wait for an answer that doesn’t seem to come. It may be that there is something in my life which is preventing Him moving or it may be that I am already in the place doing what he wants of me. Not everyone has that ‘special’ calling but I expect that if they have God will be giving them direction. I expect therefore that God will be showing me those things I need to correct if He has indeed plans for me. All I can do is try to live in accordance with His will and to ask Him to reveal any things I should be doing. ‘If You have plans for me please show me what I must do to be obedient’. Being always ready and open to anything He calls me to do is the way it is for me.

    Shirley Anne x

    1. asd539 says:

      Sometimes dreams take a long time to happen, but if they are the godly dreams I am talking about you will have moments of realization where you know you are on the right path. Great comment, thanks so much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

