Substituting our 911′s with 119′s Part 8: Finding the Path and Direction

dramatic dream
Path or Direction

Psalm 119:57-64 Heth

LORD, you are mine!

I promise to obey your words!

With all my heart I want your blessings.

Be merciful as you promised.

I pondered the direction of my life,

and I turned to follow your laws.

I will hurry, without delay,

to obey your commands.

Evil people try to drag me into sin,

but I am firmly anchored to your instructions.

I rise at midnight to thank you

for your just regulations.

I am a friend to anyone who fears you—

anyone who obeys your commandments.

O LORD, your unfailing love fills the earth;

teach me your decrees.

The Psalmist here takes possession of God.  He clearly states that God is his.  I like thinking about how God is part of our lives.  Without the work that Jesus did on the cross God would have judged the world and destroyed it because that is what we really deserve.  Not long ago I blogged on the concept of joy and how it’s good to be alive.  Understanding grace for what it is can bring us joy whenever we see a sunrise creep over the horizon.  We have another day that God allows us to live judgment free because He sees us as perfect and has forgiven all we have done that is wrong and all that we will continue to do.  The thing that really stuck out to me in this passage is where he is taking about pondering the direction of his life.  One thing that we all ponder and wonder about is the direction our lives should be taking.  How can we get to where we desire to go?  What obstacles stand in our way as we try to get to that direction, goal or dream?

Direction is finding the open door to your vision or dream.  We find direction for our vision in several ways.  The first way we do this is by reading God’s word.  It’s always a way to find the direction you are seeking.  In my experience with God’s word when we focus on it and ponder it we will be more Holy Spirit sensitive.  I found in my own life that it takes time and commitment to become more Holy Spirit sensitive.  The key here is to listen to what God is saying to you, not trying to understand the passage from someone else’s point of view.  How do you see the passage and understand it yourself?  I understand scripture from my own point of view and use blogging to meditate on it.  It’s a new way for me to do it in this medium, but wow how rewarding it is to me.  Not everyone is going to blog on scripture, but just journaling is a way for you to make it your own.

Another way we find direction is through the godly and positive people we surround ourselves with in our lives.  They have to be honest real people that will tell you whether you are crazy or not with your dream or goal.  The same goes for negative feedback.  Sometimes negative feedback will give you determination to prove someone wrong.  People can help us find the direction we need.  God always uses people to achieve His will on earth.

Just obeying God and following His ways can give us the direction we need.  Taking up our cross daily and following Jesus will get you toward you dream.  God loves a moving target and when we move on God’s behalf, He will move earth and heaven to aid us in getting to His will and our godly purpose.

Reading scripture, people both negative and positive, and obedience will shift us toward that dream or goal the God has put into your heart.  Sometimes there are obstacles in circumstances, sometimes people will get in your way.  Being consistent and intentional in how we tackle every problem that comes our way will give us peace and joy toward the godly dream we have.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shirley Anne says:

    I find myself searching my heart when I read Scripture and wondering how what I read can be applied to myself and where it can best be used in my daily life. I begin to question myself to see if I am doing the right things, doing things in accordance with God’s will. God’s word is my guide and His Spirit encourages me to stay on course. I am finding that there are lots of mid-course corrections to be made in my life and I am making the adjustments as I go along.

    Shirley Anne x

    1. asd539 says:

      Awesome Shirley Anne, it’s really the best way to keep going. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

