Good To Be Alive: Living Joyfully

 

Celebration!
Celebration! (Photo credit: sea turtle)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing.

You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy,

that I might sing praises to you and not be silent.

O LORD my God, I will give you thanks forever!  Psalms 30:11-12

I don’t normally blog on songs, but in this case I make an exception.Jason Grey’s song Good to Be Alive is not just a great song; it’s really my theme song for life.  If you’ve read prior blogs you should have an idea I came from a very negative place, depression that caused me to gain a good amount of weight that was in the process of killing me.  My morbid obesity was giving me some major issues with asthma, heart failure and sleep apnea.  As I took small steps to remove this weight off me, God made major strides toward me, I found this awesome momentum in my life that even now keeps me going, and that momentum is called joy.  God turned my morning into joy as the above Psalm illustrates.  My attitude was changed as if I was changing clothes.  I love this Psalm it so speaks of how my life was and how it became what it is now.  I now have so much gratefulness I can’t shut up about it.

Jason Grey’s song talks of joy and gratitude.  The chorus is what touched me

the most about the song.  “I want to live like there’s not tomorrow, love like I’m on borrowed time, it’s good to be alive.”  Those three treasures are what we can use to point us in the direction of a significant life.

Living like there is no tomorrow is very important if you want to be significant and joyful in this life.  It’s the attitude of having no excuse of why not to do something.  I think most of us desire to have significance and joy in life.  Joy by the way is not happiness.  Happiness is something sought after, and once we find it, we lose it after a season.  Joy is an attitude that is continuous as long as we continue to feed it.  Let’s be honest here, there really is no guarantee of tomorrow. We can only be sure of God being in the middle of our life if we allow Him to be.  Living like there is no tomorrow will feed our joy.  It looks like this, we do things outside of our comfort zone and get into the faith zone.  We rely on the Holy Spirit to lead us to our next adventure. The excuses are kept to a minimum.  Let me be straight forward about excuses, the temperature will never be right, the timing will never be right, the feeling will never be right.  If you keep excuses to a minimum you will find amazing momentum in your life.

The next part of the chorus is my favorite, loving like I’m on borrowed time.  Again, time is fleeting and we only have a certain amount of time in our lives to love as if we are on borrowed time.  The meaning here is to love God deeply, to love people deeply, to love ourselves deeply.  It’s an unconditional love that throws all caution to the wind.  The faith zone comes into play here as well.  We risk being hurt, we risk rejection, we even risk disappointing ourselves and using negative self-talk.  It’s all worth it because we get closer to God, we touch peoples lives and we find significance for ourselves.  It’s called taking up our cross daily and following Jesus, dying to ourselves and allowing God to fill us with life.  If you love like there is no tomorrow your love tank will be full all the time.

The last part of the chorus, it’s good to be alive speaks of moving from the faith zone to the joyous zone.  The joyous zone is where you wake up every morning thanking God for the life you are living, no matter the struggle you are going through.  Where you look at your friends and are thankful for God bringing them in your life.  Where you love your family and know that life would be much less without them.  It’s where you desire to see a sunrise because you know that it brings a day full of godly possibilities.  The most awesome thing you can do is live like there is no tomorrow, love like you are on borrowed time, because it’s good to be alive.

Below I put the You-Tube video of the song for you to enjoy.  It’s a lyric video that Jason Grey put together, it’s kind of goofy, but very cool.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Shirley Anne says:

    I like this. For all the bad things in life, it is still worth the living but more especially when we realise it is God given. I thrill at the fact that I am alive, alive in Christ. It makes living really worth while doesn’t it? Thank you for this post David.

    Shirley Anne x

    1. asd539 says:

      Thanks for the awesome comment Shirley Anne. Life is worth the living because of Christ. 🙂

  2. Mel says:

    I LOVE THIS SONG!!! :]

    1. asd539 says:

      Yeah, this is so an awesome song. It makes me realize my joyfulness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

