Substituting our 911′s with 119′s Part 6: The 3 Qualities of Loving Wisdom

Psalm 119:41-48 Waw

LORD, give me your unfailing love,

the salvation that you promised me.

Then I can answer those who taunt me,

for I trust in your word.

Do not snatch your word of truth from me,

for your regulations are my only hope.

I will keep on obeying your instructions

forever and ever.

I will walk in freedom,

for I have devoted myself to your commandments.

I will speak to kings about your laws,

and I will not be ashamed.

How I delight in your commands!

How I love them!

I honor and love your commands.

I meditate on your decrees.

Psalm 137

Have you ever been ridiculed and attacked for your faith as a Christian?  Are you doubtful as to how you would proceed if you were attacked?  The Psalmist here addresses that very topic.  The Bible is not just comprised of wisdom; it’s a book of love.  We can debate people all day long on the realities of the scripture, but if they don’t feel the love of Christ coming out of us then it’s just blowing hot air.  The very first verse in this section of 119 is the wise choice to make while under attack.  God give me your unfailing love and the salvation you promised me.  We are to walk not only in wisdom, but in love.  Loving wisdom is going a second mile when forced to go the first.  Loving wisdom is turning the other cheek when slapped.  When we focus on God’s word and we find the loving wisdom in these pages, three qualities can occur.

  1. We are obedient to God.  The Psalmist here says we will not lose God’s wisdom as long as we stay in God’s word and it makes us obedient.  Loving wisdom is going to give us the Holy Spirit leading that we need to find the path of significance God has planned for us.  When we do this drive is built up in our lives.    We become the driven people of God.
  2. We find freedom with God’s loving wisdom.  Some people view the Bible as a book of dos and don’ts.   I view it as an instruction manual of how to love God, yourself and others as yourself.  I find freedom all the time in these pages, freedom from guilt, freedom from scorn, freedom from shame, freedom from sin, I can be continuous on all the freedom found in this book.
  3. There is no intimidation factor.  As I walk in loving wisdom, I find a power within me that won’t back down.  The Psalmist says we can speak to kings about God’s commands.  We have the King of kings in this book of the word.  We can be confident in what we say when loving wisdom is a part of our lives.

When we are consistent in the reading of God’s word, we are first off obedient.  We find freedom and circumstances or people do not intimidate us.  The key here is consistency of reading and meditating on God’s holy word.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

Leave a Reply

