Substituting our 911′s with 119′s Part 4: The Things We Find When at the End of Our Rope

Psalm 119:25-32 Daleth

I am laid low in the dust;
preserve my life according to your word.

I gave an account of my ways and you answered me;
teach me your decrees.

Cause me to understand the way of your precepts,
that I may meditate on your wonderful deeds.

My soul is weary with sorrow;
strengthen me according to your word.

Keep me from deceitful ways;
be gracious to me and teach me your law.

I have chosen the way of faithfulness;
I have set my heart on your laws.

I hold fast to your statutes, Lord;
do not let me be put to shame.

I run in the path of your commands,
for you have broadened my understanding.

I love this section of the scripture because it parallels my own life.  This Psalmist appears to be at the end of his rope.  He is looking for a spiritual awakening and he knows he is going to find it by reading God’s Word.  I can safely say that was my life four years ago.  I was at the lowest point in my life and had no place to look, but up.  I was close to death and what I thought was furthest from God.  What I didn’t realize then was that God was only as far away as my own bible was from me.  Going through this series has awakened me to the fact of how important God’s Word is to us.  It pulled the Psalmist from the low point as it did for me as well.

We can garner some great things from God’s holy Word in this text.  The first thing we can get is strength.  When I was at the end of my rope the biggest thing I needed was strength.  Here the Psalmist asks for it.  By following God’s Word we can find the strength we need.  The Holy Spirit speaks to us through His holy Word and we can find the strength we need to get us through the toughest of situations.  Change will eventually happen if we continue to focus our attention on God’s holy Word.

The next thing we see is that we stay away from sin, or as the Psalmist puts it, deceitful ways.  A life free from sin is really impossible because we have been born to sin, but we can limit it in our lives by focusing on God’s Word.

As we are faithful to God’s Word we become faithful to God and His ways.  We choose to do good in the world and be a lighthouse to the utter darkness surrounding us.  With strength behind a purified heart we can be this light of faith for the world to see.  Our insignificant sinful life can become a significant inspiring life that shows purity in all we do.  We can have faith in God, but to be faithful means we are walking with God in our faith.

Understanding comes with God’s holy Word.  The Holy Spirit speaks to us through the Word of God.  We may interpret it different ways because God is speaking directly to the person, not to everyone at once.  When we get understanding we get the purpose for our lives.  God keeps us moving in that direction with His Word.

When you’re at the end of your rope, God throws you a lifeline of hope.  The lifeline of hope He has for you is the bible, His holy Word, learn it, know it, live it.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shirley Anne says:

    Nice one David. Sometimes we think that God has abandoned us and that He is far from us whereas the opposite is true. If we cannot sense HIs presence it is us who have left the room.
    Shirley Anne x

    1. asd539 says:

      Thanks my friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

