Substituting our 911′s with 119′s Part 2: Staying on the Path of Purity

Psalm 119:9-16: Beth

How can a young person stay on the path of purity?
By living according to your word.

I seek you with all my heart;
do not let me stray from your commands.

I have hidden your word in my heart
that I might not sin against you.

Praise be to you, Lord;
teach me your decrees.

With my lips I recount
all the laws that come from your mouth.

I rejoice in following your statutes
as one rejoices in great riches.

I meditate on your precepts
and consider your ways.

I delight in your decrees;
I will not neglect your word.

As clouds cover the sunny sky, darkness closes in.  It’s only 6:00 pm at night and it should not be this dark, dark enough for headlights.  As I drive home from where we were, I can clearly see the road in front of me.  Then all of a sudden it gets darker and the torrential down pour happens.  The rain is so hard that my windshield wipers cannot even move the water from my sight fast enough.  We are in the midst of a storm and we have to find a place to pull over to let it pass by.  Our walk with God is very much like dealing with a storm and finding the path that is set before us.

The Psalmist asks the question how does a young person stay on the path to purity?  By living according to God’s word and His commandments.  Purity takes on several attitudes in our lives.  The first one is purity of our physical.  The next one would be purity of our mind. The last would be purity of our words.

Purity will keep us strong and courageous in the midst of the storms that life brings.  Now I am merely using this storm as an example and do not advocate people continuing driving if they cannot see, please pull over if you cannot see.  The storm was so strong I had to pull over and wait.  God does not want us stopping in the midst of the storm we are facing, He wants us to keep going even though we may be uncomfortable in what is happening.  God works with a moving target, not a statue.  The physical part of our purity is hard to understand the importance of this, and I think God has put me on this earth to help toward that effort.  The storm we have may be that of a physical aliment.  It can be debilitating.  We cannot just give up and pull off to the side of the road and not fight this thing.  I am thinking of a friend that has had two bouts with breast cancer and even though the last time was diagnosed with stage 4, which is terminal, she still had a great attitude and fought through it.  She has been healed from it and is now celebrating life even more vigorous than before.  Physical purity looks like this, we put good stuff in our bodies, we exercise our bodies regularly, and we stay away from drugs, drink, and practice sexual moral behavior.

Purity of our mind is found when we study God’s holy Word.  As we meditate on it day and night.  Meditate is not some kind of sitting in a crossed legged yoga position and uttering “ummmm.”  It’s thinking about the word you read today that God gave you.  Apply it to your life; this keeps you on the path. God’s word is like a gigantic flood light that is so powerful it cuts through the heavy down pour and gives you a somewhat clear picture of where you are going.  Memorizing God’s word helps us to keep it in our hearts and to use it at the appropriate time the Holy Spirit moves us.

Lastly is purity of the tongue.  The tongue is a window to the heart, whatever comes out of it is what is in your heart.  The Psalmist is saying what should be coming out of our mouths is praise to God.  When we have purity of the heart we have purity of the physical as well, we want to take care of ourselves.  All this purity is an attitude of living that makes life less burdensome than if we allowed drama to overtake us.  The way to see the path better and to stay the course is to live a life of purity; and we do that with God’s holy Word.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

One Comment Add yours

  1. johnny says:

    dude that would be good for another book.

Leave a Reply

