Favor is Not Automatic

English: Oswald Chambers (1874-1917)
Oswald Chambers (1874-1917) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:11-13

I have been thinking a lot about favor lately.  One of the things I learned from my Pastor recently is that favor will cost you something.  God’s grace is free, but favor will cost you.  The above familiar verse is all about favor.   Usually when this verse is quoted, we stop at verse 11.  Favor comes when we seek God with all of our heart.  What does that look like?  Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all of your soul and all of your mind.  Jesus says this in Matthew.  Loving God with all we are, recklessly abandoned to His will is seeking God.  See, it does take some work.  When we serve others less fortunate, when we love people that have not received love, when the outcast is brought in, that is seeking God.  I just described the outward approach.  Giving to others is seeking God.

The personal approach is having your quiet time with God everyday.  It doesn’t matter when you do it as long as you do it.  Just 15 minutes in reading a passage of scripture and praying will get you started.  As small step in that direction, can really make a big impact in your life.  I love the app I have for my I Phone called Youversion.  It’s a bible app that gives you all different versions of the bible and offers some awesome devotionals and scripture readings.  This day and age you cannot say that you don’t have time to read the bible and to pray.  If you value something, you will spend time with it.  I cannot say I have been perfect everyday with it, but I can say that I prioritize my time to make sure I do it. It just makes the start of your day all the better.

The awesome thing about favor is the protection you get from it.  God is going to protect you.  As you get more in tune to the Spirit, you will notice that little things that could have gone wrong big time, seem to work out in an uncanny way.  You are more aware of God’s protection.  Not only that but you are blessed with that protection and blessed with other things as well.  For me the biggest blessing I have found with this favor is how much love I have experienced from God.  He has used people around me to express that love.  By finding that and tapping into that I find that I have to give love back by serving people in a ministry to help them get past whatever stronghold that is holding them back.  With the protection and with the blessing you can find a purpose to your life.  The future that God is talking about and the hope that we will make it to the destination God wants us to make.  Oswald Chambers said that it is the process, not the end, which is glorifying to God.  As we go through the process of our walk with God, we are glorifying him and blessing those around us.  Another fact about favor is it spreads to those most close to us.  The funny thing about light is darkness has a tendency to get out of the way.  Working on favor though the outward and the inward approach will get you protection, purpose and the blessing that favor brings you.  Nothing is automatic, we have to take small steps to change our lives, but when we do, God is there to give favor even more impact than what we can even imagine.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Shirley Anne says:

    Our Father wants to interact with us, nothing gives Him greater pleasure. When we are aware of His presence we realise, often in the little things, His hand in what happens. More often I think we look back and see how He has intervened in certain situations and incidents in our lives when at the time it went unnoticed. God loves those who love Him and all He wants is the best for us. We are indeed fortunate to have such a love.

    Shirley Anne x

    1. asd539 says:

      Amen my friend, thanks for the awesome comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

