Body Temple Part VI: Freedom Brings Vision

A symbol of freedom

But those who trust in the LORD will find new strength.
They will soar high on wings like eagles.
They will run and not grow weary.
They will walk and not faint. Isaiah 40:31

I love this photo of the proud eagle I found in captivity in this cool wildlife park we visited early in the spring.  He looks so confident and yet he is in a cage.  I think it’s a travesty of nature that this beautiful creature was hunted almost to the point of extinction.  This is the last of the Body Temple series of blogs.  I thought it would be fitting to end it on a freedom note.  Each of these blogs has had a single purpose and that is the effect things have on our Body Temples.  This last blog is going to discuss freedom.  I felt it was fitting to release this one on Independence Day, even though it has nothing to do with America.  Running has been a constant theme through this series, so I continue the tradition.

As I blogged about hope a couple of blogs ago, I mentioned that the best time for me to clear my mind is to go for a long run.  I worship God with my body in this way.  To me there is no greater freedom in my life than to spend time in worship with God in my run.  It gives me focus and vision for the future.  I don’t think of running as a chore because it is a labor of love.  It’s something I deeply hated as  a child because I wasn’t fast at all.  In fact, right now I’m not that fast of a runner.  What keeps me driven is the forward focus I get and the vision I see before me.  I can hear my heart beating, my lungs taking in oxygen to feed to my blood cells to get my muscles in my legs to do what they need to do. I’m very competitive even though I don’t try to win the race.  I try to beat my former personal record, or as us runners call it a PR.  Even in my training, I try to beat my last time.  The whole point is we need vision in our lives, a goal, a lofty purpose if we are to reach that goal.  You just cannot go through life without some sort of vision for your future in front of you.

The American eagle represents freedom.  It also represents freedom in the bible as well.  The above verse is awesome in showing us that when we trust in God we find strength.  Vision gives us strength, when we have a purpose or a goal to shoot for.  Now I am not saying plan every stage of your life, but I am saying have some goals to shoot for.  A high flying eagle can see far ahead and all around except what was behind.  If the eagle looks back, he might run into a skyscraper or mountain.  Our past can be a distraction to keep us from the future God has planned for us.  As we put our trust in God, He gives us the vision to see ahead.  When we have that vision, it gives us drive or strength to continue forward toward that goal.

The last part of this verse shows us how freedom and vision can keep us going and not make us weary.  As I talked about in a couple of blogs ago, we still need to rest and reflect.  At the tail end of the verse, it talks about walking.  We can rest and still move forward in our positive reflection.  Negative reflection takes us out of our race.  As I runner the negative thoughts can be I can’t do this.  I can’t breath good, or my legs are hurting.  To finish a race we have to listen to our bodies and stop and maybe walk to get it together to finish the race.  We walk to rest, reflect, and not grow faint of heart.  This way we can run and not grow weary.  Rest and reflection give us drive and direction.  Freedom gives us vision to move forward in our lives, negative reflection stalls our forward momentum and enslaves us to the past.  Let freedom reign in your life.

© [David Howard], [David’s Body Temple], 2011-2015.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shirley Anne says:

    As a former runner myself, although I only ever ran for personal enjoyment and it was enjoyment just as you say. I never really had a goal or direction. I just went anywhere that seemed right at the time. I found that running helped me do a lot of thinking about God though and it was the best time for thinking. I similarly used to try to beat my former best and was constantly trying to better myself. In my walk with God I endeavoured to improve our relationship and I still do. However as I got older I found that my running times began to lengthen, absolutely unavoidable of course because we have no real control over the inevitability of growing old. I think we must be careful that our walk with God doesn’t slow down or even worse diminish completely with age like our running may do. I think I am mastering that one though. My running time may have slowed with age but my walking speed with God is getting faster. More to the point I know where I am going.

    Shirley Anne

    1. asd539 says:

      Awesome Shirley Anne, thanks for the comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

