Second Mile Week 8: The Meaning Of It All

on

On the last day, the climax of the festival, Jesus stood and shouted to the crowds, “Anyone who is thirsty may come to me!  Anyone who believes in me may come and drink! For the Scriptures declare, ‘Rivers of living water will flow from his heart. John 7:37-38

Last night was an incredible night for the last night of Second Mile classes.  Pastor’s Mundo and Dan brought some awesome teaching to us last night.  God was really moving in our last class in a powerful way.  I can’t add on to the teaching that was so strongly and passionately taught.  If you went through this class and you were not changed somehow you really missed the mark.  For myself I can say I have lived the Second Mile lifestyle, but the class and the teaching has really sharpened what I have already known.  Not to say I have not learned anything, I learned a ton, and a lot more about myself.  This class has taken me to the next level in my growth with Christ.

For one thing it has given me a group of people that I can be accountable to at church that are for me.  The above scripture is what I am talking about, living water flowing from hearts.  What does this living water look like that Jesus was talking about?  First it’s non-judgmental.  It does not see the sin, it sees the saint.  It sees the person that is trying desperately to be the person God wants him or her to be.  Second Mile living is knowing you are not alone in your walk, and that “no man is an island unto himself”.  We need community.  What I learned is that my burdens are my godly friends burdens.  I can probably say for the first time in my life I really understand this concept of living water flowing.  The living water is the agape love that the Holy Spirit puts into our hearts so that our living water can flow out from us to someone else.  Strength in numbers is what I  learned, God wants us to have people in our lives that can give us the extra push through to the next level.

Another leadership idea I took from this class was the idea of servant leadership.  Leading by example.  Doing what needs to be done with a smile on your face and a great attitude.  It’s the living water concept all over again.  What a better way to lead than to inspire those around you by getting you hands dirty along side them.  What an awesome way to love people by showing them an attitude of servant hood.  Jesus was the best example of this, He was in charge, but He also could come down to everyone’s level and serve.  In fact it says in the scripture that He came not to be served, but to serve.   The living water leaks out when you lead like this, leading from your heart.

The last thought I have is the idea of passing on what I learned.  We have to bring up other leaders, and what a better rewarding way to go than to replace yourself.  Teach others what you  know so that when you move on to something else, the gap will be filled.  The world does not lead this way, they want to keep everything damned up in themselves.  We have to let the living water flow from us and touch others lives.  When we build leaders, we make people stronger and more confident to finish this life strong.  So I guess the meaning of it all is this one simple thing, let agape love be your guiding light in this dark world.  It can never steer you wrong and it will always see the good in people and the potential of future leaders.  We need each other, we need to serve each other and we need to build each other up.  That is the Second Mile attitude.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. johnedoe says:

    I REALLY DO DIG THE WAY THAT YOU ARE TYING THE “TWO” TOGETHER WITH WHAT YOU ARE WRITING AND SHARING WITH ALL WHO ARE READING IT!!!! I’M CHEERIN FOR YA BROTHER!!!! THANKS AGAIN!!!!!

    1. asd539 says:

      Thanks John for the great comment and the cheer. 🙂

  2. Paul says:

    Greetings Brother David. Love your theme “the second mile” and your thought behind it, Look forward to reading more of your posts soon. Blessings of the Lord be yours
    Paul

    1. asd539 says:

      Thanks Paul, glad you received from it. Awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

