The Essential 100 Day 89: 2 Timothy 3:10-17 and 2 Timothy 4:1-8: Finish What You Started

6 For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, and the time for my departure is near.7 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.8 Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing. 2Timothy 4:6-8

Well, it’s two days before the first 5K for three ladies from my church with whom I am going to run/walk this 5K .  It’s been three and a half years since I walked my first 5K.  As you can see the big guy in the photo below is me when I had lost my first 100 pounds.  I was weighing in at a whopping 350.

What was cool about this race was all the support I had around me; as you can see.  I had 4 awesome people walking with me and one of them was carrying my oxygen tank.  The love and support I got that day meant so much to me that it’s hard to put down in words how I feel.  The best thing I can do is give back to other people who want to lose weight and be healthy so, that’s why I am supporting them in their first 5K effort.  That first 5K my goal was just to finish the race.  It took me 1 hour and 14 minutes to complete, but when I was done was so elated.  Paul uses this example in the scripture above; he talks about finishing the race.  As God shows us our path we need to follow it’s important for us to finish strong in the race.  We don’t have to win it, to win it all you have really do is to complete it.  I felt like a winner that day because I finished strong.  I have never walked that far in my life, nor walk up as many hills as I did. The thing is if I dropped our and quit, I think that would have been devastating to me.  I know it would have been devastating to the people who were there for me.

All three parts of that verse go together, to finish the race you have to fight the good fight, you will have things come against you.  Me I had 350 pounds of weight and heart failure.  I needed oxygen.

You have to keep the faith up.  I was getting into the Bible everyday and praying.  The best way to keep your faith is to exercise it with just those two simple important things to do everyday.  Also step out in faith, get out of your comfort zone.  I sure was out of mine.  Normally I would be camped out in front of the TV on a Saturday morning, or sleeping in.  I wouldn’t be outside being cold walking 3.1 miles, that’s for crazy people.

When I crossed the finished line we had to do two things, get our timing chip taken off and receive the finishing medal.  God keeps track of our race time.  He only keeps track of our righteous race time.  The bad stuff is forgotten, thanks to Jesus.  Then our finishing medal is the crown of righteousness.  The symbol of fighting the good fight, finishing the race and keeping the faith.  My prayer is that all who read this will finish the good thing that God has started in your life.  It may be the very thing He uses to help you inspire to change your sphere of influence.

Leave a Reply

