The Essential 100 Day 68 and 69: John 19, 20 and 21: Death to Life to Restoration

on

15 After breakfast Jesus asked Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love me more than these?”

“Yes, Lord,” Peter replied, “you know I love you.”

“Then feed my lambs,” Jesus told him.

16 Jesus repeated the question: “Simon son of John, do you love me?”

“Yes, Lord,” Peter said, “you know I love you.”

“Then take care of my sheep,” Jesus said.

17 A third time he asked him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?”

Peter was hurt that Jesus asked the question a third time. He said, “Lord, you know everything. You know that I love you.”

Jesus said, “Then feed my sheep.  John 21:15-17

I decided to put these two days together for this blog.  The death and resurrection of Jesus Christ should be looked at together and not apart.  John 19 is all about Jesus’ death and then burial.  John 20 we have Him coming back from the grave.  John 21 He restores the disciples, most especially Peter.  This restoration was very important because Peter was the rock on which Jesus builds His church.  Jesus asked him 3 times whether he loved Him and 3 times he answered yes.  These were to clear up the 3 times Peter denied Him.  Jesus is in the habit of restoring people, no matter what they have done.  Restoration is so important in life, to realize you are restored and renewed.  Recently I went through some life events I never in a million years thought I would have to work through.  It has derailed some of my hard work over the last 3 years of my life.  Yesterday I was hit in the face with some reality that made me cringe.  Weight gain.  Adding 8 pounds in two weeks was mortifying to me.  I could not believe it, and then to top it all off in front of the people I am trying to inspire to change their lives.  As God reminded me through a friend, it was good it happened to show that I am not perfect.  That is a step toward change in their lives and toward the restoration they are looking for.  Humility can recharge your batteries and inspire others while you go through whatever you may face.

Leave a Reply

