The Essential 100 Day 41: Psalm 23: An Overflowing Cup

5 You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.

6 Surely your goodness and love will follow me
all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
forever. Psalm 23:5-6

What can I say about this famous passage of scripture that has not already been said?  I can say it probably is used at more funerals than any other scripture.  The two verses that speak to me the most are 5 and 6.  They talk about if we have a mountain top attitude at all times we will be filled up to overflowing into other peoples lives.  Our enemies are of no consequence in our lives.  We don’t have to worry about them, God has our backs.  If we keep a great attitude when we are in the valley we are filled with the Holy Spirit.  It’s a faith builder going through trials.  God wants to build faith and character into our lives.  As your faith grows your heart grows with the faith.  We love people the way God loves us all.  We will have favor both with God and man.  Love is the greatest thing for an overflowing cup.  It dribbles into the sphere of influence around us and makes our life count for God.  It gives glory to God in all things that we may go through both the good and the bad.  Today don’t let life get you down, allow God to give you peace and a cup overflowing with love.

Leave a Reply

