The Essential 100 Day 21: Exodus 19, 20:51-21: The Love Of God

5 You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me,6 but showing love to a thousand generations of those who love me and keep my commandments. Exodus 20:5-6

This is the famous 10 commandments.  This is just part of the first commandment.  God made this commandment the longest it seems.  Jesus later on will summarize and simplify the commandments with just two, love God and love people.  The most important is to love God with all you heart soul and mind.  If you do this you will experience and understand the full measure of God”s love for you.  We don’t always think about loving ourselves in that equation, but it’s a very important concept to focus on.  If we are to love God with all our heart, soul and mind we have to love His creation as well.  Psalm 139 reminds us how God formed us and that we are fearfully and wonderfully made.  Today if you are unhappy with yourself start your focus on God.  He will teach you to love yourself.  That’s what happened to me, when I stopped focusing on my failures as a human being, my shortcomings and focused on God.  This opened me up to the full measure of experiencing God’s love and understanding it as best I can.  Just as in the passage God shows his complete love for the Israelites by telling them not to touch the mountain.  He also lists us in this passage saying that He will give His love to thousands of generations.  He is not just talking about the Jewish people, He is talking about you and me.

Leave a Reply

