The Essential 100 Day 18: Exodus 6:28-30, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11: Why Harden The Heart

3 But I will harden Pharaoh’s heart, and though I multiply my signs and wonders in Egypt,4 he will not listen to you. Then I will lay my hand on Egypt and with mighty acts of judgment I will bring out my divisions, my people the Israelites.5 And the Egyptians will know that I am the Lord when I stretch out my hand against Egypt and bring the Israelites out of it. Exodus 7:3-5

This whole passage in a nutshell is Moses talking to Pharaoh, telling him what is coming down from God and Pharaoh ignoring every judgement God showed him.  You can tell the hardened heart when even Pharaoh’s magicians could not duplicate everything Moses and Aaron did.  After each of the 10 plagues that happened to Egypt, it says that Pharaoh’s heart was hardened.  Why did God have to harden his heart?  That is the question I was wondering as I read t his passage.  I think more than anything it was a character builder in Moses as well as a faith builder.  Remember Moses started off as a murderer.  Moses was not the great man of God at this point.  He was well on his way because he listened to God and obeyed.  God will put us to the test just to build character and faith in us.  He is not the author of evil, but He will allow it to happen just so we can bring glory to His Holy name.  I’m sure Moses went through times of frustration with all of these miracles happening around Egypt and Pharaoh still would not give in.  I think we need to remember in those times who is in control.

Leave a Reply

