The Essential 100 Day 14: Gen. 43 and 44

34 How can I go back to my father if the boy is not with me? No! Do not let me see the misery that would come on my father.” Genesis 44:34

I thought this verse stood out from the rest because it looks like Judah is not as cold hearted as we once thought.  He actually seemed to care about his father.  I guess he was always looking for approval from his father and in his eyes never got it.  He probably thought that this time it would be different.  Joseph continues the ruse here by putting a silver cup in their saddle bags.  I think that when we seek the approval of others we are playing the perfectionist.  Everything has to be just so, so that I can get the approval I am looking for.  We don’t need to look very far for approval, we have it already with God.  He approves of us no matter what we may do.  Jesus perfect sacrifice has us covered and God sees nothing but perfection.  Our focus should not be how perfect we need to make everything, our focus should be our striving to perfection.  Doing good works and building our faith.  Don’t be a shallow Judah and try to make up for things you cannot make up for.  Be like Joseph and have forgiveness and love in your heart.  Then you will be close to perfection.

Leave a Reply

