The Essential 100 Day 9: Gen. 27, 28:1-22

on

20 Then Jacob made a vow, saying, “If God will be with me and will watch over me on this journey I am taking and will give me food to eat and clothes to wear 21 so that I return safely to my father’s household, then the Lord will be my God 22 and this stone that I have set up as a pillar will be God’s house, and of all that you give me I will give you a tenth.”

The story of Jacob and Esau is just an example of how God can make the ordinary, extraordinary.  There is no doubt that God knows the hearts of man.  He knew the recklessness of Esau as well as the deceitfulness of Jacob.  Esau was reckless in the fact that two times he allowed himself to be taken advantage of.  That does not show that he was willing to be a leader of the family when that happened.  Jacob first took his birthright, then took his blessing.  Jacob was an ordinary boy that had the potential of a leader.  Later Jacob would pay the price for his deceitfulness.  These three verses here speak to me about how God showed Jacob in a dream, that He was with him all along.  That God was protecting him and giving him all the necessities of life.  Jacob was so grateful that he gave God a tenth of what he owned.  God does the same for us everyday; He provides.  We need to take a step of faith and give our tenth, because He gave it all for us.

Leave a Reply

