Forks Can Be Confusing

on

The “fork in the road” is a term used to talk about that time in your life when you are seeking direction.  There are many forms of direction, some people get advice from friends.  Some people consult their horoscope.  Some people just follow the crowd.  The best direction is the direction God can give you.  It can sometimes be frustrating.  Sometimes your own ideas can get in the way of what God really wants you to focus on.  Since I started setting goals for myself, it’s amazing to see how God can slowly make His goals in your life agree with the goals that you put down.  As you get closer to God He will direct your path.

One of my favorite verses in the Bible is Jeremiah 29:11 says:

I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.

I like the Message version of the Bible, it plainly speaks to me.  God has everything planned out, He has every good work planned before we were even formed.  Ephesians 2:10 says that plainly.

Ephesians 2:10(NKJV)
10For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.

As you can see God has plans for us and they are there for us to take possession of when we are ready to do them.  If God has given you a vision to do something incredible, but you are met by closed doors; don’t give up on that  dream.  A closed door today does not mean tomorrow won’t have an open door.  Sometimes God wants us to grow into the vision.  That way we can be more effective when it’s His time and not our own.  We can give ourselves a false sense of peace.  We do have peace that this is the direction God wants us to go, but the turmoil inside is how will it get done if we can’t get it off the ground.  We could force it, but then it would be in our own power and not God’s.  When that happens is, we will get burned our or fail in our attempt.  Does this mean that this is the end of the vision?  No, it just means you learned a very important lesson on God’s timing.

This is where patience comes in.  For the last two years I have had on my goal list to do this ministry program at my Church called Damascus Road.  I thought for sure this year was the year to do it.  Man, I had a peace about it, I just knew this was it.  I was so wrong, God wants me to focus on writing my story for a book.  It was plain to me what the direction was, “David finish your other dream that you started a year ago.”  In the last few weeks I have been encouraged by several people to get this accomplished.  My point is what we think is it, may not be what God has planned for you right now.  Our dreams are not a waste of time.  They can be God given visions that we will have no problem doing once we get out of the way of God.  So, if you want to know the direction God wants you to go in the “Fork in the road”, you need to stay prayer focused and God’s Word focused and you will see what must be done.  If we get our focus out of whack, failure will be just around the corner.  Thankfully God is a God of second, third and fourth chances and the vision will get done in His time.  His time is always the best time and always the most glorifying to God.

One Comment Add yours

  1. It is awesome that our God is a God of countless chances, hooray for you knowing that when the time is right everything will fall right in place. Even when a door seems closed its just another opportunity to keep putting one foot in front of the other and keep walking down the path that has been laid out before you. I know a lot of doors have closed in my life, but as I kept walking more opportunities have opened up along the way. Its awesome that you can be an encouragement to others that have struggled with their weight. Obesity is such a problem in our country, we need more people like you who are willing to share their story to let others know that it is possible to get fit even after years on the couch!

Leave a Reply

